Printer Friendly

Goodyear-Bruch steps into leadership role with confidence.


Caryl Goodyear-Bruch, RN, PhD, CCRN, became AACN's 39th president on July 1, accepting the leadership reins from outgoing President Dave Hanson, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNS.

Goodyear-Bruch selected "With Confidence" as her theme for the coming year, encouraging acute and critical care nurses to develop confidence so they can transform the healthcare environment to benefit patients and their families. Joining Goodyear-Bruch as president-elect for 2008-09 is Beth Hammer, RN, MSN, APRN-BC, as well as newly elected directors Vicki Good, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS, Kathleen Stephens Williams, RN, MSN, CCRN, Natalie Correll-Yoder, RN, MN, CCRN, CCNS, and Kathryn Roberts, RN, MSN, CRNP, CCRN, CCNS.

Returning to the board are Marian Altman, RN, MS, CCRN, ANP, Linda Bucher, RN, DNSc, J. "Ski" Lower, RN, MSN, CCRN, CNRN, Julie Miller, RN, BSN, CCRN, Kristine Peterson, RN, MS, CCNS, CCRN, Mary Stahl, RN, MSN, CCRN, CCNS-CMC, CNS-BC, and John Whitcomb, RN, PhD, CCRN. Peterson is the new secretary of the board and Altman is the new treasurer.

Completing their terms on the board were Paula Lusardi, RN, PhD, CCRN, CCNS, Patricia Gonce Morton, RN PhD, ACNP, FAAN, and Janice Wojcik, RN, MS, CCRN, APRN, BC, ACNPC.

Caryl Goodyear-Bruch


Goodyear-Bruch is a critical care clinical nurse specialist and clinical associate professor at the University of Kansas Hospital and University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, Kan.

A member of AACN since 1981, she served on the AACN Board of Directors from 2003 to 2006 and was a member of the AACN Certification Corporation Board of Directors in 2005-06. She previously served as chair of the Education Work Group and as a community liaison to the AACN board.

She is a member of the Greater Kansas City Chapter of AACN, where she has held a variety of offices on its board of directors, including scholarship chair, education chair, treasurer and president.

Beth Hammer


Hammer is a nurse practitioner in cardiology at the Zablocki VA Medical Center, Milwaukee, Wis.

A member of AACN since 1989 and secretary of the AACN Board of Directors since 2007, she is a lifetime member and past president of the Greater Milwaukee Area Chapter. She also is a past Chapter Advisory Team representative for Region 8. In addition, Hammer has served as a member of the AACN Awards Review Panel and the AACN Scholarship Review Panel.

Vicki Good


Good is director of nursing practice integration for CoxHealth, Springfield, Mo.

An AACN ambassador since 1999, she is a member of the Greater Fort Worth Chapter and a past member of the Puget Sound Chapter. In addition, Good was a section editor, and a chapter author and co-author for the" AACN Advanced Critical Care" textbook. In addition, she was a chapter author and reviewer for the "AACN Procedure Manual.

Kathleen Stephens Williams


Williams is a nurse educator at St. Anthony's Medical Center, St. Louis, Mo.

An AACN ambassador, she is a member and past president of the Greater St. Louis Chapter.

Williams is a strong advocate of the quality of AACN resources. She has integrated AACN materials, including ECCO, Practice Alerts, Protocols for Practice and publications, into her critical care courses. In addition, she has conducted research and delivered presentations on healthy work environments as part of her master's program coursework and implemented the healthy work environment standards into team building and communications classes.

Natalie Correll-Yoder


Correll-Yoder is a critical care clinical nurse specialist at Queen of the Valley Medical Center, Napa, Calif.

She is a charter member and past president of the Napa Valley Chapter, and is a past member of the AACN Nominating Committee. She was a member of the ECCO Review Panel and participated in the development of the recently released ECCO 2.0 course outline.

A member of the former AACN Ethics Work Group, Correll-Yoder has co-chaired the Medical Staff Bioethics Committee at Queen of the Valley Medical Center the last 12 years.

Kathryn Roberts


Roberts is a clinical nurse specialist in pediatric intensive care at the Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, Philadelphia, Pa.

She is a member of the Southeastern Pennsylvania Chapter and an AACN ambassador. She has served on the NTI Work Group and AACN Nominating Committee.

In addition, Roberts is a reviewer for Critical Care Nurse and a member of the Continuing Education Review Panel.

AACN Nominating Committee

Lisa Falcon, MSN, RN, CCRN, Christine Schulman, RN, MS, CNS, CCRN, and Lisa Riggs, RN, APRN, MSN, CCRN-CMC, were elected to the AACN Nominating Committee for 2008-09. Falcon of New Brunswick, N.J., is a nurse educator in Surgical Services at Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital. Schulman of Portland, Ore., is a trauma and critical care CNS consultant. Riggs of Lenexa, Kan., is a clinical nurse specialist at St. Luke's Hospital of Kansas City. back to top
COPYRIGHT 2008 American Association of Critical-Care Nurses
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:AACN News
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jul 1, 2008
Previous Article:American Nurses Center awards AACN for Advocacy.
Next Article:AACN announces Beacon Award for Pediatric Critical Care.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters