Printer Friendly

Give them a hand.

State legislators and legislative staff honored several individuals and one website at the recent annual meeting of the National Conference of State Legislatures in Nashville.

Tennessee Speaker Jimmy Naifeh and Colorado Speaker Andrew Romanoff share the 2006 Excellence in State Legislative Leadership Award. The annual award is presented to a state legislative leader who has demonstrated those qualities of leadership, integrity, compassion, vision and courage that have made the legislature a stronger institution. The award is sponsored by NCSL and the State Legislative Leaders Foundation. Speakers Naifeh and Romanoff each received $5,000 to donate to a charity of their choice.

The Minnesota Legislature was awarded NCSL's 2006 Online Democracy Award for their website's ability to make democracy user-friendly. The Online Democracy Award is given to a legislature, legislative chamber or legislative caucus whose website best uses the principles of design, content and technology in delivering legislative information to their constituents.

The Minnesota website,, was recognized for its ease of navigation, advanced tools and technologies, and the quality of content offered on the site.

Several individuals received awards for their lifetime commitments to the state legislative institution. Dr. Alan Rosenthal was recognized a Defender of the American State Legislature. Rosenthal, a professor of public policy at the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers University, has dedicated his academic career to better understanding state legislatures. Much of his research has helped state legislators and legislative staff around the country to strengthen the institution.

Tennessee Lieutenant Governor John Wilder was also honored with a lifetime achievement award for his long tenure as speaker of the Tennessee Senate. Wilder was first elected to the Senate in 1958 when he served a two-year term. Six years later, Wilder returned to the Senate; he was elected by its members as presiding officer in 1971. His leadership has survived a number of challenges over the years which many say, is a testament to his skills as a legislator and leader.
COPYRIGHT 2006 National Conference of State Legislatures
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:ceremony to appreciate legislative leadership
Publication:State Legislatures
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Oct 1, 2006
Previous Article:Welcome aboard.
Next Article:A walk for wellness.

Related Articles
Where's the party?
How to be an effective committee chair.
Staff section stories: a history.
Garton, Moe Win Prestigious Leadership Award.
People & politics.
No party for the GOP? Clinton's mid-term election was bad news for Democrats who lost 500 legislative seats. Some prognosticators think Republicans...
A look at term limits.
Brain drain: many legislative staffers are due to retire soon--taking with them a ton of experience.
Connecting kids and lawmakers: students are getting involved in American democracy, and legislators are helping them.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters