Printer Friendly



A group of English poets, whose style dominated the early years of the 20th century, and who wrote poetry of nature and rustic life in the traditional manner of Wordsworth. The trend was inaugurated by the long narrative poem " The Everlasting Mercy " (1911) by John Masefield and A. E. Housman 's Shropshire ballads; it was turned into a movement by Edward Marsh, who published the biennial anthology Georgian Poetry (1912 - 22). The name reflects the accession of King George V in 1910. The chief Georgian poets were Lascelles Abercrombie, Edmund Blunden, Rupert Brooke, W. H. Davies, John Drinkwater, Ralph Hodgson, J. C. Squire, and Edward Thomas.

COPYRIGHT 1987 HarperCollins Publishers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1987 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia, 3rd ed.
Article Type:Reference Source
Date:Jan 1, 1987
Previous Article:George, St.
Next Article:Georgics.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters