Printer Friendly

George W. Mead receives high honors from IPST.

George W. Mead, past chairman of the board of Consolidated Papers Inc., Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA, was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy, Honoris Causa at the 74th commencement exercises of the Institute of Paper Science and Technology, Atlanta, Georgia. This was the last commencement for IPST as an independent organization since it has now been merged into Georgia Tech.


Mead recently retired as a member of the board of directors of Stora Enso Oyj. Stora Enso and Consolidated merged in August 2000. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree from Yale University and, following that, a Master of Science degree from The Institute of Paper Chemistry in 1952. Mead then joined Consolidated Papers as a chemical engineer.

George Mead was the third generation of his family to serve as CEO of Consolidated Papers, of which his great-grandfather, J.D. Witter, was a key founder. The company was known as the leading supplier of coated printing papers to the printing and publishing industries and, in the late 1930s, became the largest supplier of paper to Time Inc. In a 1987 poll of sell-side security analysts, Consolidated Papers was voted the best-managed paper company. Under Mr. Mead's leadership as CEO, the company broadened its product line and enhanced customer relationships. Active in industry associations for over three decades. Mead has served on the board of directors for the American Forest & Paper Association (AF & PA), where he also chaired the AF & PA environmental and health program. He is a past chairman and member of the board of governors and executive committee of the National Council of the Paper Industry for Air & Stream Improvement Inc. He served as a trustee and chairman of the board of trustees of the Institute of Paper Science and Technology and is a fellow of TAPPI, which he joined in 1951. He is also an emeritus trustee of Lawrence University.

Mead won the 1986 Executive of the Year Award from the Paper Industry Management Association and was named Papermaker of the Year in 1990 by PaperAge magazine. In 1994, he received the Herman Louis Joachim Award for Excellence in Management from the Syracuse Pulp and Paper Foundation, Inc.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Paper Industry Management Association
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:WorldWatch
Publication:Solutions - for People, Processes and Paper
Geographic Code:4EUFI
Date:Jul 1, 2004
Previous Article:TAPPI paper machine performance survey: free machine analysis for all participants.
Next Article:100,000 square feet of machinery and services and growing.

Related Articles
2001 Van den Akker Prize awarded for advances in Paper Physics.
IPST TAPPI/PIMA student summit.
New educational center unveiled.
Derek H. Page to receive TAPPI Gunnar Nicholson Gold Medal.
New research opportunities at IPST at Georgia Tech.
In other Honeywell news.
IPST-GT granted $100,000.
PIMA announces 2006 leadership award winners.
Award winners exhibit the attributes of a leader.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters