Printer Friendly

George S. Whitby Award.

Dr. Burak Erman will be awarded the 2007 George S. Whitby Award for Distinguished Teaching and Research. The award, sponsored by Cabot, honors outstanding international teachers of chemistry and polymer science, and recognizes innovative research.

Erman, a professor at Koc University, Istanbul, Turkey, earned his undergraduate and Masters degrees in Civil Engineering at Robert College in Istanbul. He completed his Ph.D. at Istanbul Technical University in 1974 in the field of materials science where he investigated the viscoelastic properties of fiber reinforced epoxy composites.

Erman joined the research group of Professor P.J. Flory at Stanford University in 1976 as a Post-Doctoral Fsellow. His collaboration with Professor Flory continued until 1985 at regular intervals as a visiting research scholar both at Stanford University and at IBM Research Center, San Jose. His other scientific collaborations include the Max-Planck Institute fur Polymerforschung in Mainz, and ESPCI, Laboratoire de Physico-Chimie Structurale et Macromoleculaire, Paris. He has been collaborating with Prof. J.E. Mark at Cincinnati University on rubber elasticity since 1987. He has over 200 scientific papers in refereed journals, two books and three edited books.

He served on the faculty of Robert College School of Engineering during 1969-1971. Erman served on the faculty of Bogazici University from 1971 to 1998, as an assistant, associate and full professor, where he taught materials science, mechanics and polymer science courses. He founded the now well-known Center for Polymer Research at Bogazici University.

In 1998, Erman moved to Sabanci University in Istanbul, where he designed and started the Materials Science and Chemistry program in the Faculty of Engineering and Natural Sciences. In 2002, he accepted a position at Koc University in Istanbul, where he is currently a professor at the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.
COPYRIGHT 2007 Lippincott & Peto, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:People in the News
Publication:Rubber World
Date:Apr 1, 2007
Previous Article:Melvin Mooney Award.
Next Article:Sparks-Thomas award.

Related Articles
Degussa AG.
U.S. Borax.
Rubber Manufacturers Association.
Engineering with Rubber.
Rubber Division takes nominations.
Rubber Division offers awards. (Meetings).
Rubber Division seeks nominations.
Rubber Division seeks nominations.
Grosch to receive Charles Goodyear Medal.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters