Printer Friendly

From Edinburgh... to Dnipropetrovsk; The full rundown of teams and places Newcastle United could visit in next season's Europa League adventure.


A TOTAL of 193 clubs from 53 nations will participate in next season's Uefa Europa League, with Newcastle United among them.

The Magpies won't enter the competition until the play-off round, which precedes the Group Stage.

Here is a rundown of the 62 teams who will enter the competition in the play-off round (draw takes place at Uefa headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland on August 10).

First leg ties to be played on August 23 (Premier League season begins on Saturday, August 18).

Second leg ties to be played on August 30.

the Europa League at the first qualification round stage, and must win three games to reach the play-off stage at which Newcastle enter the competition ANDORRA (875miles) FC Santa Coloma (2nd in Andorran Primera Divisio) FAROE ISLANDS (535miles) EB Streymur (Faroe Islands Cup winners 2011) LIECHTENSTEIN (721miles) USV Eschen/Mauren (Liechtenstein Football Cup winners) LUXEMBOURG (493miles) Differdange 03 (4th in Luxembourg National Division) MALTA (1,525miles) Birkirkara (3rd in Maltese Premier League) SAN MARINO (990miles) La Fiorita (Coppa Titano winners) AZERBAIJAN (2,529miles) FK Baku (Azerbaijan Cup winners) ? Figures shown are distance in miles from Newcastle
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2012 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Evening Chronicle (Newcastle, England)
Date:May 23, 2012
Previous Article:Enjoy Europe - after all, I did says Cassidy.
Next Article:Beating Bayern did it for Drogba.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters