Printer Friendly

Four newly-elected British MPs belong to Mirpur district.

MIRPUR -- Four of the nine newly elected Pakistan-origin members of the House of Commons, of the British Parliament, belong to Mirpur district of Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK).

According to a survey carried out by this scribe on Saturday, the newly-elected British MP from Birmingham Mirza Khalid Mahmood of Labour Party, who retained the office, belongs to Dadayal town of this district.

Similarly, the another newly-elected MP from Bradford Ms. Naz Shah of Labor Party belongs to her native town of Chakswari, the parent constituency of the incumbent AJK Prime Minister, in this district.

The triumphant MP Naz Shah defeated her nearest rival George Gailway of the chief of Respect Party.

Likewise the newly-elected MP from Bradford, Barrister Imran Hussain of Labor Party belongs to adjoining village Pothi of Mirpur city.

Whereas the newly-elected MP from Birmingham Shabana Mahmood of Labour Party belongs to Mangla, Mirpur (AJK).

Rest of the newly-elected Pakistan-origin British MPs included Tasleema Sheikh of Scottish National Party from Scotland, Yasmeen Qureshi of Labor Party, elected from Luton, Sadiq Khan of Labor Party, elected from Nottingham, Sajid Javed of Conservative Party, elected from London and Rehman Chishti of Labour Party.

It may be mentioned that the Pakistan-origin Anas Sarwar, a contestant in the elections from Scotland, the son of former Punjab Governor Ch. Sarwar suffered defeat in the election.

COPYRIGHT 2015 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Balochistan Times (Baluchistan Province, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:May 10, 2015
Previous Article:Sindh CM calls for making public-oriented ADP for next year.
Next Article:CM inaugurates modern video conferencing room.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters