Printer Friendly

Four former winners go for the overall crown again.

THERE are four former winners in a quality field for Sunday's Huddersfield Champion of Champions at Lindley BC.

It's an earlier than usual Noon start in the event, which is sponsored by Armitage Leisure Services.

Steven Hirst, who qualified by winning the Spring Handicap, is bidding to complete a hat trick of wins in the seasonending showpiece, after taking the title in 1998 and 2004.

Colne Valley Merit winner Peter Kain was Champion of Champions in 2006, while Crosland Moor Open winner Craig Gant won the top prize in 2009 and Wayne Moseley, who qualified by winning the Sandal Classic, took the Champion crown in 2011.

Huddersfield Merit winner Andrew Cairns will also be a driven man, having lost in last year's Champion of Champions decider to John Metcalfe.

Preliminary round: Andrew Cairns (Huddersfield Merit) v Ashley Tattersley (Cockroft Handicap), Clive Austin (Halifax League Merit) v Ian Shuttleworth (Wakefield Merit), Gary Siswick (Autumn Handicap) v Michael Sweeney (Heavy Woollen Merit), Rob Cox (Con Merit) v Peter Kain (Colne Valley Merit).

First round: Andrew Wadsworth (Jack Burgin Trophy) v Graham Illingworth (Veteran's Rosebowl), Jack Hill (Dearne & Don Merit) v Graham Hirst (West Riding Merit), Wayne Moseley (Sandal Classic) v Craig Gant (Crosland Moor Open), Jack Chesswas (Yorkshire Junior Merit) v Thomas Hanson (Mirfield Merit), Steven Hirst (Spring Handicap) v Mark Atkinson (Lib Merit), Dave Cowsill (Ossett & Horbury Merit) v Liam Griffin (Yorkshire Merit).

No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sport
Publication:Huddersfield Daily Examiner (Huddersfield, England)
Date:Oct 2, 2014
Previous Article:Medieval mining manual on show.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters