Printer Friendly

Foodies Hall of Fame.

THE SPECIALTY FOOD ASSOCIATION has established a Hall of Fame to honor individuals who have played significant roles in creating and shaping the $88.3 billion specialty food industry.

The inaugural inductees, inducted during the 2015 Winter Fancy Food Show in San Francisco, include 114 individuals who helped establish the specialty food industry in the 1950s, 1960s and 1970s, as well as pioneers in specialty food retailing, tastemakers and culinary innovators who are continuing to change tastes today. The inaugural class was selected by association members and members of the Hall of Fame Committee.

Inductees include: Chuck Williams of Williams-Sonoma; Andy Balducci, Balducci's; David Bigelow and Eunice Bigelow, Bigelow Tea; Manfred Adler, Atalanta Foods; Ann Brody, Sutton Place Gourmet; Joel Dean and Giorgio DeLuca, Dean & DeLuca; Stephen Fass, Macy's/ Bloomingdale's; Paul Saginaw, Zingerman's; Jim Stott, Stonewall Kitchen; Trip Straub, Straub's Markets; and Steven Jenkins, Fairway Markets.

"The specialty food industry is built on the creativity and passion of individuals who have worked hard to bring top-quality food and new flavors to market," says Ann Daw, president of the Specialty Food Association, based in New York. "We are proud to recognize these pioneers."

COPYRIGHT 2015 MacFadden Communications Group LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:UPFRONT: Trade Talk
Author:Turcsik, Richard
Publication:Grocery Headquarters
Date:Feb 1, 2015
Previous Article:New spirit of Co+operation.
Next Article:Avocado green at heart.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters