Printer Friendly

Flint Ink announces David B. Flint Lifetime Achievement Award: Roy Beagle is first honoree. (Fresh Ink).

David B. Flint, executive vice president, Flint Ink, was recently honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award established in his name by the company's North American News Ink Group in recognition of his more than 30 years of service to the newspaper printing industry.

The first recipient of the award was Roy Beagle, a 40-year veteran of the company, who currently serves as Flint Ink's vice president, global news ink.

Mr. Flint is a member of the third generation to work at the family-owned Flint Ink. He joined the company in 1967 and throughout his career has played a leadership role in its news ink business, as had his father, Edgar Flint. He has been active in the Newspaper Association of America (NAA), and was instrumental in the development of low rub and soy-oil-based newspaper inks. Most recently he participated in the company's joint venture to build a news ink manufacturing plant in Beijing, China.

"Having this award named after me was a surprise," Mr. Flint said. "It's an honor that they would select me as an example for this award. I followed in my father's footsteps, spending 35 years living and breathing the newspaper ink business. It's nice to have an award like this with the Flint name."

Mr. Beagle started with the company in 1961 as a superintendent in manufacturing, eventually rising to the position of vice president and general manager of the North American News Ink Division. He is actively involved in various trade organizations including NAA, Flexo Users Group, Metro Users Group, and International Users Group.

"Roy is an excellent person to receive this award," Mr. Flint said. "He started from the ground up, beginning in our Jacksonville plant, and has worked his way up through our company. He not only is very knowledgeable about the technical side, he also knows so many people in the industry."

"You look back and you see the industry change so much," Mr. Beagle said. "When I came to Flint Ink, we were less than a $10 million company. Hopefully, this award says that I've contributed to improving our industry and how we respond to our customers. Years ago, you just sold pounds of ink. Now we also provide value and service."

Mr. Beagle said that Mr. Flint is deserving of having an award named in his honor.

"David's been instrumental in implementing a lot of changes in the newspaper industry, and it's appropriate the award is named after him," Mr. Beagle said.

In presenting the award, Mike Green, vice president and general manager, North America News Ink, noted that both Flint and Beagle are well deserving of the recognition.

"We plan to use this award to honor the man or woman who, over the course of their career, best exemplify David's commitment to the news ink industry," Mr. Green said. "There was no doubt that Roy Beagle should be the first recipient."
COPYRIGHT 2003 Rodman Publications, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Savastano, David
Publication:Ink World
Date:Jan 1, 2003
Previous Article:UVitec introduces new UV offset inks. (Fresh Ink).
Next Article:Mexico's ink industry anticipates growth in 2003.

Related Articles
A Lifetime of Achievement.
David B. Flint Receives NAPIM's Pioneer Award.
Flint Ink Promotes Beagle, Bitterle. (Fresh Ink).
Len Shaffer honored by NAPIM with the Printing Ink Pioneer Award.
Bill Miller leads Flint Ink North America: with his new team in place, the company's new division president prepares for the future.
NAPIM Convention review: there are signs that the ink industry may see economic improvement in 2003.
Flint Ink's Roy Beagle receives NAPIM's Pioneer Award.
Norm Harbin of Flint Ink receives Pioneer Award.
David B. Flint elected Chairman of Flint Ink board of directors.
Flint Group's Andrew Matthews is honored by the industry: Flint Group's Andrew Matthews receives NAPIM's Printing Ink Pioneer, Technical Achievement...

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters