Printer Friendly

First Atlantic Aboriginal Entrepreneur Award winners.

The first Atlantic Aboriginal Entrepreneur Award winners were announced on Sept. 13 at a gala held in Moncton. Atlantic Aboriginal Entrepreneurs of the Year are Glooscap Trading Post (Basil Peters) of Millbrook First Nation, N.S.; Apjipeg Crafts (Margaret LaBillois) of Eel River Bar First Nation, N.B.; St. Mary's Tree Service (Lee Polchies Sr.) of St. Mary's First Nation, N.B. and Annie's Canteen & Wooden Flowers (Annie "Ronnie" Paul) of Indian Brook First Nation, N.S.

The judges honored four recipients, each in business for more than 35 years, to acknowledge their contribution to the community and set the bar for future awards.

Aboriginal Woman Entrepreneur of the Year is Amaguk Inn and DJ Gifts (Patricia Pottle) of Hopedale, Nfld.

Aboriginal Youth Entrepreneur of the Year is Beothuk Outback Adventures (Fred Thorne) of Buchans, Nfld.

Band Enterprise of the Year is Innu Development Ltd. Partnership of Happy Valley/Goose Bay, Nfld.

Aboriginal Businesses of the Year (one from each province) are Mista Shipu Ltd. Partnership (Sebastian Benuen, Tommy Pone and Tony Parsons) of Happy Valley/Goose Bay, Nfld.; Maritime Sound and Light (Anthony Stonham) of Fredericton; G & G Home Heating (Robert Gloade) of Truro, N.S.; and Inland Sand (Jack and Darcy Sark) of Lennox Island, P.E.I.


Aboriginal Export Business of the Year is Spirit Thunder Recording (Jimmy Augustine) of Elsipogtog, N.B.

Economic Development Officer of the Year is Tracy Menge of Eskasoni First Nation, N.S.

Government Employee of the Year is Cheryl Keats, INAC, of Fredericton.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Aboriginal Multi-Media Society of Alberta (AMMSA)
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Accomplishments
Publication:Wind Speaker
Date:Dec 1, 2005
Previous Article:First Nations remain the bedrock of business.
Next Article:De Beers Canada Inc. and Attawapiskat First Nation.

Related Articles
CANDO gets the job done at awards ceremony.
Awards dinner celebrates Aboriginal entrepreneurial spirit. (FedNor Update).
Daniel Rose named 'Entrepreneur of the Year'.
Awards recognize Aboriginal business success.
Perspective, persistence and passion.
Andrea Dykstra: award recipient eyes federal cabinet post.
Young entrepreneurs encouraged and guided.
Atlantic entrepreneurs honored.
Aboriginal achievers honoured in Edmonton.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters