Printer Friendly

Fiction prize won by sci-fi tale.

SCIENCE fiction writer Chris Beckett has won this year's Edge Hill Short Story Prize - the UK's only award for a short story collection by a single author.

The judges chose his book The Turing Test, with its tales of robots, alien planets, genetic manipulation and virtual reality, over collections by Anne Enright, Shena Mackay, Ali Smith and Gerard Donovan.

Beckett was presented with the pounds 5,000 prize and a specially commissioned painting by Liverpool artist Pete Clarke at a ceremony held by Edge Hill University at the Bluecoat on Saturday. He was also awarded the pounds 1,000 Readers' Prize. Anne Enright won the second prize, worth pounds 1,000, for her collection Yesterday's Weather, published by Vintage.

This year's judges were James Walton, chair of BBC Radio 4's The Write Stuff; author and 2008 winner Claire Keegan and Mark Flinn, Edge Hill's provice chancellor. The prize was launched three years ago and is co-sponsored by Blackwell bookshop.


Chris Beckett
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Post (Liverpool, England)
Date:Jul 6, 2009
Previous Article:Hundreds of thousands hit by flooding.
Next Article:SUMMER POPS Australian Pink Floyd/Echo Arena.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters