Printer Friendly

Fair housing and equal opportunity.

(Note: The language below is an excerpt from the full Legislative Statement of Policy which can be found at

Classes Protected From Discrimination

The Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, or national origin. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) has proposed a rule to ensure that its core programs, specifically rental assistance, are open to all eligible individuals and families regardless of sexual orientation. Twenty states, the District of Columbia and over 200 localities add sexual orientation as a protected class to their fair housing ordinances or statutes. In 2010, NAR added prohibitions against discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation to the Code of Ethics and NAR's Code of Ethics and the Fair Housing Partnership reflect the prohibitions of the federal law. Some state and local laws add other categories to this list.

As a national organization, IREM's policies should reflect national, state and local policies. Consequently, IREM's positions on fair housing should include the protected classes under federal fair housing law and should consider other protected classes included in state and local law. IREM recognizes the inclusion of sexual orientation as an additional protected class.

COPYRIGHT 2013 National Association of Realtors
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:New Legislation
Publication:Journal of Property Management
Article Type:Brief article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Nov 1, 2013
Previous Article:HUD same-sex housing discrimination study.
Next Article:What is going on in my state?

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters