Printer Friendly

Esselstein receives 2003 Gold Medal Award.

Jerry L. Esselstein, CPA received the 2003 Gold Medal for Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession during The Ohio Society's Annual Meeting on June 17, 2003. Esselstein, currently a member of the Educational Foundation's Board of Trustees, served as president of The Ohio Society of CPAs from 1992-1993.

When notified of the Awards Committee's choice, Sandra K. Pierce, 2002-2003 chair of the Society's executive board, said, "I couldn't be more pleased. Jerry has been a constant leadership presence at The Ohio Society and, through endeavors such as his tenure on the AICPA Council, the AICPA Board of Directors and the Accountancy Board of Ohio, he has served as an outstanding representative of the best in our profession."

Nearing almost 30 years as both a CPA and a member of The Ohio Society, Esselstein's volunteer service has not waned. He has been a member of the Bylaws, Members in Industry, Membership Services; Communications with Students, and Finance Committees, among others, as well as numerous task forces and work groups. Aside from the Educational Foundation Board, he is also a current member of the prestigious Committee of 50.

Asked about his unflagging commitment, Esselstein said, "An investment in our profession pays life-long dividends. I am confident that I am a better person and a better CPA for the time I have given. Today, new CPAs need only to look at the strength, synergy and friendships that have come to so many from volunteering, as a reason to be involved."

Chris Knaul, chief financial officer at Berwanger Overmyer in Columbus and a former co-worker, spoke about another side of Esselstein. "Jerry has been an outstanding teacher and mentor. He encourages his employees and peers to be their best and challenges them to look at issues differently. I have received great support and encouragement from Jerry over the years. He encouraged me to become a CPA, to enroll in leadership courses to improve my skills and, in fact, encouraged my active involvement in The Ohio Society as well."

J. Clarke Price, president of The Ohio Society, is also pleased to see Esselstein honored by his peers. "Jerry absolutely deserves this award. The Society's leaders can always count on him to say 'yes' when the Society needs him. Along with his breadth of knowledge about the profession, his enthusiasm and humor is always a welcome addition to any project."

"I am honored to receive this award," Esselstein said. "There are many CPAs contributing to the profession that are so deserving. I'm involved to help the profession--the recognition is secondary, but deeply appreciated."
COPYRIGHT 2003 Ohio Society of Certified Public Accountants
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Meritorious Service to the Accounting Profession
Publication:Catalyst (Dublin, Ohio)
Geographic Code:1U3OH
Date:Jul 1, 2003
Previous Article:Dickson installed as 2003-2004 society chair.
Next Article:2003 Member Award recipients.

Related Articles
Ray J. Groves and Thomas L. Holton are AICPA Gold Medal winners.
John Queenan, former AICPA president, dead.
AICPA awards Gold Medal to Strait at annual meeting.
Philip L. Defliese awarded POB McCloy award.
High honors for three CPAs.
AICPA grants top honors to three.
2003 Members Summit and Annual Meeting.
William Holder [awarded highest honor from AICPA].
Happenings at October governing Council meeting.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters