Printer Friendly

Erik Hurst Joins Macroeconomics Annual Editorial Team.

Erik Hurst, who is the V. Duane Rath Professor of Economics at the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and the deputy director of the Becker Friedman Institute, will be a co-organizer and co-editor of the NBER Macroeconomics Annual beginning in 2019. Hurst is a wide-ranging applied macroeconomist whose work has touched on labor markets, household finance, and household financial behavior. His research has been recognized with the Ewing Marion Kauffman Prize Medal for Distinguished Research in Entrepreneurship and the TIAA-CREF Paul A. Samuelson Prize for Research on Lifetime Financial Security. He is a past co-editor of the Journal of Political Economy.

An NBER affiliate since 2003, Hurst is a research associate in the Economic Fluctuations and Growth, Public Economics, and Aging Programs. He received his BS from Clarkson University and his PhD from the University of Michigan.

Hurst will join current co-organizers Martin Eichenbaum, the Charles Moskos Professor of Economics at Northwestern University, and Jonathan Parker, the Robert C. Merton Professor of Finance at the MIT Sloan School of Management, in convening the 2019 Annual Conference on Macroeconomics. Parker will step down from the organizing team after that meeting, and Eichenbaum and Hurst will organize subsequent conferences.

COPYRIGHT 2018 National Bureau of Economic Research, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:NBER News
Publication:NBER Reporter
Date:Jun 1, 2018
Previous Article:Emi Nakamura and Jon Steinsson Are New Co-Directors of Monetary Economics Program.
Next Article:Capital Flows, Currency Wars, and Monetary Policy.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters