Printer Friendly

Election deadline looms in battle for ROA council seats.

Byline: Andrew Scutts

RACEHORSE OWNERS' ASSOCIATION members have until a week today to cast their votes in the ROA council elections, in which 17 candidates are battling for four places, writes Andrew Scutts.

Former ROA president Jim Furlong is seeking re-election along with Patrick Whitten, while At The Races chief executive Matthew Imi is standing for the second time.

Resums of the 17 candidates appeared in the last issue of Owner, the ROA's magazine, which will be replaced after the next edition by

Thoroughbred Owner & Breeder, to be published jointly by the ROA and TBA.

Imi, an owner for four years, wrote: "I am bullish about the future and, if elected, I would

endeavour to put 15 years of commercial broadcast experience to good use for the benefit of the ROA and its members."

Also standing for election are Jack Bennett, Reg Brookes, David Chapman-Jones, David Cocks, Norman Collins, Rick Dale, William Harrison-Alan, Eric Hemming, Tony Hirschfeld, David Manning, Roddy McDougall, William Powrie, Sally Rowley-Williams and Humphrey Solomons.

The ROA's AGM takes place on June 29 at 10.30am at the Churchill Hotel, Portman Square, London. The formal business is followed by a speech from ROA president Chris Deuters and an owners' forum.

The same afternoon, the ROA hosts its members' and guests' lunch, at which the BBC's business editor Jeff Randall is guest speaker. There is a champagne reception at 12.30pm, followed by lunch. Tickets cost pounds 75 and can be booked on 020 7408 0903, or via
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sports
Publication:The Racing Post (London, England)
Date:Jun 18, 2004
Previous Article:Classy jumper Barton is put down.
Next Article:Ford's award for Gunner ride presented at Palace.

Related Articles
Furlong victory in BHB election.
ROA council deadline.
Neill bidding for ROA council seat.
New ROA chief Deuters given BHB role - Neill to be owners' vice-president.
Fourteen into five as five as ROA votes on council council.
Dixon elected ROA president after Crown stands down.
Hopefuls for ROA council throw hats in the ring; Nine-strong field in line-up for 2008 running.
Euro battle lines drawn; ELECTION IS TOUGH TEST FOR LABOUR.
Six candidates, three jobs as ROA members get set to elect their councillors.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |