Printer Friendly

Eberhart, Mignon (Good) (1899- ).

writer of detective fiction. In many of the stories that made her reputation, the sleuth is a nurse, particularly the popular Sarah Keate. First of her approximately 70 books was The Patient in Room 18 (1929). More widely read were While the Patient Slept (1930) and From This Dark Stairway (1931). Her other novels include The Dark Garden (1933), The Glass Slipper (1938), The Sisters (1944), Five Passengers from Lisbon (1946), Never Look Back (1951), Unknown Quantity (1953), Man Missing (1954), Melora (1959), Jury of One (1960), Run Scared (1963), Witness at Large (1966), Murder in Waiting (1973), The Patient in Cabin C (1983), and A Fighting Chance (1986).

COPYRIGHT 1991 HarperCollins Publishers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1991 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature
Article Type:Reference Source
Date:Jan 1, 1991
Previous Article:Eaton, Evelyn Sybil Mary (1902- ).
Next Article:Eberhart, Richard (1904- ).

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters