Printer Friendly

EP awards human rights prize to doctor from DR Congo.

BRUSSELS, Nov 26 (KUNA) -- The President of the European Parliament, Martin Shculz, Wednesday awarded the European Parliament's 2014 Sakharov Prize for the Freedom of Thought to Dr Denis Mukwege from the Democratic Republic of Congo. "By awarding this prize, the European Parliament acknowledges his admirable work as a medical doctor and honours the man who struggles for womenآ's dignity, for justice and peace in his country," said Schulz. He noted that the Panzi Hospital in Bukavu which Mukwege founded has become a shelter for thousands of women and girls, victims of sexual violence. "There they found a helping hand to repair their mutilated bodies and broken souls," said Schulz. The 50,000 euro Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is awarded each year by the European Parliament. Named after the late Soviet dissident, it was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms. Last year the prize was awarded to Malala Yousafzai, the Pakistani campaigner for girls' education. (end)

All KUNA right are reserved 2014. Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).

COPYRIGHT 2014 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2014 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Kuwait News Agency (KUNA)
Date:Nov 26, 2014
Previous Article:Three policemen killed in shooting in Sinai.
Next Article:Kuwait selected deputy chairman of UNIDO's board of directors.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters