Printer Friendly

Dr. John Hope Franklin Award.

The Dr. John Hope Franklin Award was created in 2004 to pay tribute to the late Dr. John Hope Franklin, a historian, writer, educator and humanitarian who made significant contributions to shaping the perspective of American history in the 20th century. A prolific scholar, Franklin's contributions have been acknowledged with numerous awards including the Presidential Medal of Freedom. On the 15th anniversary of the awards inception, Diverse is pleased to present this comprehensive list of past recipients of the award.

2004: Dr. David Levering Lewis Historian New York University

Dr. Sybil Mobley Dean Emeritus School of Business & Industry Florida A&M University

Bill and Nelinda Gates The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

2005: Dr. Johnnetta B. Cole Director National Museum of African Art

Dr. Clifton R. Wharton Jr. Former Chairman and CEO TIAA

2006: Dr. Maya Angelou Professor Emeritus Wake Forest University

Dr. James P. Comer Maurice Falk Professor of Child Psychiatry Yale University School of Medicine

Dr. William C. Friday President Emeritus The University of North Carolina System

2008: Dr. Norman C. Francis President Xavier University of Louisiana

Dr. Alvin F. Poussaint Professor Harvard School of Medicine

Mary Duke Biddle Trent Semans Chairman Emeritus The Duke Endowment

2009: Dr. Arturo Madrid Professor of the Humanities Trinity University

Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson President Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

2010: The Southern Regional Educational Board (SREB) State Doctoral Scholars Program

The Georgia Institute of Technology College of Engineering

2011: Marian Wright Edelman President and Founder Children's Defense Fund

Dr. Edmund Gordon Professor Emeritus of Psychology Yale University

2012: Dr. Robert A. Corrigan President San Francisco State University

Christopher Edley, Jr. Co-Founder The Harvard Civil Rights Project

Dr. Gary Orfield Co-Founder The Harvard Civil Rights Project

2013: Dr. John T. Casteen III President Emeritus, The University of Virginia

Dr. Mary H. Futrell President of the Americans, United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

Dr. William Julius Wilson Lewis P. and Linda L. Geyser University Professor, Harvard University

2014: Dr. James Rosser President Emeritus California State University, Los Angeles

2015: Dr. Belle Wheelan President Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges

2016: Dr. Rodolfo R Acuna Professor Emeritus California State University, Northridge (CSUN)

2017: U.S. Congressman John Lewis Georgia's 5th District, Civil Rights Activist

Dr. Samuel L. Myers, Sr. Founder Minority Access, Inc., pioneering HBCU advocate

Dr. Wilma J. Roscoe Board of Directors Minority Access, Inc., pioneering HBCU advocate

2018: Dr. James Johnson Duderstadt President Emeritus University of Michigan

Dr. William R. Harvey President Hampton University

Dr. Darlene Clark Hine John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of History Michigan State University

2019: Dr. Michael T. Nettles Senior Vice President and Chair, Policy Evaluation [pounds sterling]r Research Center, Educational Testing Service (ETS)

Dr. Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham Harvard University, History Department Chair, Professor of History and of African and African American Studies
COPYRIGHT 2019 Cox, Matthews & Associates
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Diverse Issues in Higher Education
Date:Jul 11, 2019
Previous Article:Georgetown CEW Report: Manufacturing Labor Force Upskilling and Downsizing.
Next Article:Sisters of the Academy: A 'Hidden " Gem' for Black Women in Higher Education.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |