Printer Friendly

Dog Racing: Jamie, Electric and Billy battle it out for gong; Irish View.


WHILE no selection process will ever satisfy everybody, most of the big names of the Irish greyhound scene during 2006 figure among the list of nominations for the Irish National Greyhound Awards.

The one bone of real contention in relation to the awards remains the lateness of the process and the actual presentation gala itself which, this year, will be staged at the magnificently Killashee House Hotel in Naas, County Kildare on Sunday, April 29. Tickets can currently be bought from the Irish Greyhound Board offices or through individual tracks.

The dog award lies between Laurels winner Ardkill Jamie, International hero Droopys Electric and Derby winner Razldazl Billy while the contenders for top bitch include Oaks winner Shelbourne Becky, Puppy Derby heroine Oran Majestic and prolific stake winner Express Wish.

Former UK racer Bombersgoinghome is one of the marathon contenders, along with that amazingly versatile performer Heart Rumble and the bitch Sonatina which won the Corn Cuchulainn.

Express Comet, a second member of the Honcho Classic and Airport Express litter to figure in the lists (Express Wish being the other), is a contender for the sprint award along with the Islandbridge Sprint winner Springwell Blue and the latest Irish fairytale Montos Mark which has just jointed Andy Johnson's squad.

One award is always decided in advance, the Brood Bitch, and it will hardly come as a surprise that Airport Express is the selection.

Owned by Michael Dalton, Airport Express (Roanokee-March Queen) was one of the fastest bitches seen in Ireland in recent times and her breeding exploits are already legendary.

Suffice to say that during 2006 from two litters (to Honcho Classic and Top Honcho) she was responsible for such big winners as Irish Sprint Cup hero Express Comet, Future Champions and subsequent Racing Post Juvenile champion Express Ego, Lee Strand winner Express Route, Coffey Unraced hero Express Smasher and the multiple event winner Express Wish.

Award candidates

Dog Of The Year: Ardkill Jamie, Droopys Electric, Razldazl Billy.

Bitch Of The Year: Express Wish, Oran Majestic, Shelbourne Becky.

Marathon Award: Bombersgoinghome, Heart Rumble, Sonatina.

Sprint Award: Express Comet, Montos Mark, Springwell Blue. Brood Bitch: Airport Express


Laurels winner Ardkill Jamie is in the running for the 'Dog of the Year' award
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Sports
Publication:The Racing Post (London, England)
Date:Mar 30, 2007
Previous Article:Dog Racing: Minister answers National prayers! I LOVE THIS GAME.
Next Article:Dog Racing: Seani out to hammer Ces rivals; Irish View.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters