Printer Friendly

Diyar Al Muharraq emerge champions.

DIYAR Al Muharraq were crowned champions of this year's Bahrain Football Association (BFA) Beach Soccer Cup.

The victors clinched the title after defeating Al Safir Hotel 5-3 in the tournament final, played at the BFA beach soccer pitches in Riffa.

Hesham Yousef registered a brace to spearhead the victors, while Mohammed Sultan, Abdulla Arad and Ayoob Nesaif were each also on target in the win.

Abdulrahman Al Maliki was on target twice for Al Safir, while Ebrahim Hassan contributed the other.

Following the match, the winners and runners-up were awarded their respective trophies and medals in a special ceremony, attended by BFA referees committee head Abdulaziz Qamber.

Also in attendance were BFA secretary general Hassan Ismail, BFA beach soccer and futsal committee head Aref Al Mannaie, beach soccer national team head coach Gustavo Zloccowick, along with representatives from tournament sponsors Pars International Hotel and scores of supporters.

Along with the title, Diyar Al Muharraq's Arad claimed the Top Scorer award after finishing the tournament with seven goals to his name. Safir's Al Maliki, on the other hand, was named the competition's Best Player.

A total of eight teams featured in this year's BFA Beach Soccer Cup, which was a first for the federation. The tournament was played in single-elimination format.

Diyar Al Muharraq and Al Safir were joined by Nomas, Sitra, Hamad Town, Malkiya, Atlas Lifts and Um Al Hassam as participating squads.

Diyar Al Muharraq got by Nomas 7-2 in the first round to set up a semi-final clash with Sitra, who had beaten Hamad Town 3-0 in their opening game.

Also in the first stage, Safir trounced Um Al Hassam 9-1 while Atlas Lifts eked past Malkiya 3-2 in a penalty shootout, after both teams were deadlocked at 4-4 at the end of regular time.

In the final four, Diyar Al Muharraq easily disposed of Sitra 6-1 to punch their ticket to the final.

Safir, on the other hand, overcame a tough challenge from Atlas Lifts to advance to the title game.

That set the stage for the exciting eight-goal clash to determine the champions.

Copyright 2013 Al Hilal Publishing & Marketing Group

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2013 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Gulf Daily News (Manama, Bahrain)
Date:Nov 12, 2013
Previous Article:Double victory for Shaikh Isa.
Next Article:GCC sport officials conclude eventful summit.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters