Printer Friendly

Designing for the future; YOUNG PERSONS INNOVATION AWARDS.

MORE than 130 students from schools in Coventry showed off their design talents at the annual Rotary Club Young Persons Award for Innovation presentation.

The event, at Elm Bank Teachers' Centre in Cheylesmore, attracted record entries from 14 schools across the city and left a lasting impression on judges from the five Coventry Rotary clubs, which sponsored the competition.

In all 133 GCSE and A level students won prizes with designs based on food, textiles, graphic products, electronic/system/control, resistant materials and A level work.

Judges also selected designs by students Chris Loynes, Matthew Wishart, Gemma Lole, Alistair Newman and Darren Hall, for special innovations award.

The five designs, which were chosen because they showed innovation and potential for commercial production, will be entered into the Midland final, which takes place in Dudley's Merry Hill Shopping Centre on July 11 where winners could receive up to pounds 2,000 in cash prizes.

The finalists, along with 15 Rotary Club award prize winners, will also have the chance to go on a week's all-expenses paid residential business training course at Pershore College.

Cllr George Duggins, chairman of the education and cultural affairs policy team, said the students' work will now be on display at Elm Bank for two weeks.

He said the exhibition was to celebrate the achievements of students and teachers from the schools involved.

Cllr Duggins said: "The innovation awards are an excellent demonstration of the talent that exists in our schools.

"Some of the students' ideas are very impressive, and the standard of the work is of a very high quality.

"I hope that people will take the time to come back and look at the exhibition and get a glimpse of the future."


Foxford School: Matthew Lanigan, Leanne Porter, Chanelle Freelove, Rajinder Mann, Neil Garland, Gemma Freeman, Ramandeep Sindhu, Alpesh Patel, Gurtak Sahota, Adam Stroud, Ajitpal Rana, Carrie Clifford, Grace Smith, Kamaljit Basi, Harkamal Bassi, Manindar Bains.

President Kennedy School: Emma Clarke, Clare Walsh, Jordana Freemantle, Hardip Aujla, Debbie Harper, Nicola Duggins, Hayley Clarke, Juljeet Lall, Sandeep Gill.

Cardinal Newman School: Natalie Eaves, Kurt Gallagher, Michelle Convey, Sandish Shoker.

Blue Coat CE School: Helen Williams, Nicola Bird, Kathy Joiner.

Finham Park School: Henry Tovey, Jonathon Hunt, Steven Wardle, Alexis Clifford, Andrew Eaves, Satvia Mankia, Nancy Elias, Neil Batchelor, Darren Pratt, Matthew Higgins, Matthew Bennett, Jacob Halpin, Narinder Jheeta, Pavandip Sidhu, Harry Wilkin, Laura Sanderson, Krishna Dhokia, Elena Lewis, Jennifer Sykes, Gemma Sutton, Jane Bush, Kamini Patel.

Bishop Ullathorne RC School: Edward Toman, Hardeep Ubhey, Andrew Henry, Sunny Chang, Claire Davenport, Adele Payton, Angela Nannion.

Tile Hill Wood School: Jade Allison, Sarah Rixon, Amy Izard, Fozia Azam, Gemma Morison, Danica Scott, Natalie Rowe.

Whitley Abbey School: Jennifer Gillies, Sarah Parsons, Helen McAuliffe, Colin Bull, Simon Robilliard, Craig Goode, Trevor Flint, Lee Sullivan, Anna Hughes, Kiranjit Johal.

Lyng Hall School: Andrew Ward, Nicola O'Brien, Suprina Mann.

Stoke Park School: James Crooke, Jeena Mistry, Satish Mistry, Parmjeet Plahe, Herpreet Lotay, Sarah Gray, Dharminder Heer, Daniel Hopkins, Perdeep Singh, Paul Back, Jasmet Virdee, Faye Lawlor, Amit Mistry, Shivandi Carter, Kulbir Kaila.

Woodway Park School: Carla Davies, Nisha Gandhi, Leigh Mead, John Seabourne, Steven Chaplin.

Caludon Castle School: Anna Collins, Claire Fretwell, Adam Hare, Ross Mortiboys, Colin Park, Christopher Bates, Liam O'Donohu, Kieran Mountford.

Coundon Court School: David Bailey, Paul Morrell, Amandeep Sidhu, Mark Blincow, Sarah Doubleday, Adele Greenway, Catherine Ewing, Satkinder Gill, Elizabeth Warner, Laura Kubasiewic, Nicola Roach, Daniel Glowacz, Elizabeth Coleman, Christopher Earle, Simon Trout.

Woodlands School: Matthew Lole.
COPYRIGHT 1999 Coventry Newpapers
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 1999 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Taylor, Ernest
Publication:Coventry Evening Telegraph (England)
Date:Jun 24, 1999
Previous Article:Glad tidings for jobs in messages cash; BUSINESS REPORT.
Next Article:MONEY WATCH; Sick benefit veto will leave me struggling.

Related Articles
Our chip's come in.
Layer one.
Mercury Motoring: Stars' art show.
$100,000 Helps Turn Inspiration Into Reality.
Record entry in design work show.
BUSINESS life: Livewires win a top national accolade.
Students plan to show their business skills.
A blueprint for entrepreneurs.
Alcoa wins Automotive News PACE Award for vacuum die casting process.
VINNOVA-Stanford Research Centre of Innovation Journalism holds 6th International Conference.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters