Printer Friendly

Daniels' Orchestral Music.

Daniels' Orchestral Music. By David Daniels. 5th ed. (Music Finders.) Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015. [xviii, 883 p. ISBN 9781442245372. $85.] Bibliography.

It has been forty-three years since David Daniels first published Orchestral Music: A Source Book (Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1972). It is also a full decade since the appearance of the fourth edition (Orchestral Music: A Handbook [Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005]). With the appearance of this, the fifth edition, several milestones must be noted.

First, either Daniels or his publisher has chosen to rename the work. It is now Daniels' Orchestral Music. This puts David Daniels in an illustrious group of eponymous lexicographers along with Sir George Grove, Theodore Baker, and Hugo Riemann. It is the opinion of this reviewer--who also had the privilege of reviewing the fourth edition (Notes 62, no.4 [June 2006]: 949-50)--that this title change merely institutionalizes a fact that has been in evidence for almost the entire life of "Daniels." The orchestra world has come to rely increasingly on Daniels and his ever-growing corpus of orchestral data. Since Daniels has announced in an e-mail post that this will be his last edition as editor, the name change is not only appropriate, but one can only applaud Rowman & Littlefield for adopting it. In the same post to the orchestra electronic mailing list, http://www (accessed 8 January 2016), Daniels informed us, "... but fear not! The work will be continued by my friend, David Alexander Rahbee, who has been sending me corrections and additions for probably two decades."

The fifth edition continues, in all respects, the improvements and expansions of the previous four editions. The present reviewer is pleased to note that several small shortcomings of the fourth edition pointed out in the above-cited review have been dealt with in a most satisfactory manner. However, the vast number of entries boggles the mind and precludes the possibility of searching out errata or lacunae. In a work of this tremendous breadth of coverage, attempting, as it does, to be all-inclusive, it is reasonable to assume that errata and lacunae will be found. One trusts that David Rahbee--David II in this context--will be as assiduous as Daniels in incorporating this information into some future edition.

Overall, a great improvement has been made in the appearance of individual entries. The judicious use of various font sizes, bold-faced text, and the highlighting of the publisher(s)/source(s) with gray shading goes a long way toward reducing the user's eyestrain. Also, for multimovement works, each movement's individual tempo and/or descriptive title is included along with the timings. Timings had heretofore been listed on a single line. The vast number of works listed in "Daniels 5" precludes the reviewer from stating that this improvement is universally applied but every title checked did have this feature--even including blank space indications for works in which the individual minutes could not be determined. This feature alone makes Daniels 5 a reference work that reaches far beyond the desks of orchestra librarians, program planners, and orchestral administrators.

In the decade since the appearance of the fourth edition, the book has expanded from 618 to 883 pages. The present volume maintains the larger page size of the fourth edition and the use of a thinner paper stock provides a volume that, while quite thick, is still manageable.

The main body of the book remains the alphabetical listing by composer. This, alone, covers almost six hundred pages. For each entry, we find composer, tide, date(s) of composition and revision, complete instrumentation (including very clear information on doubling and percussion requirements), timing, and source. Again, one must take the timings with more than a grain of salt. Quoting from the aforementioned review of the fourth edition, "The only accurate timings of orchestral music are those taken of actual performances or, in our own time, specific recordings." However, the user of this volume wall no doubt benefit from the knowledge that a completely unfamiliar work is seven, seventeen, or seventy minutes in duration.

The primary text is followed by a series of appendices that provide insight into the nature of the works indexed. Listings are provided for works with chorus, solo voices (including speaker or narrator), works listed by instrumentation, works listed by duration, works intended for youth concerts, significant anniversaries of composers (covering the years 2016-26), and composer groups for thematic programming. Of these, the most problematic is the last. In a list of composers broken down by gender and ethnicity, there are simple distinctions such as women composers, French composers, or Canadian composers. German and Austrian composers, however, are lumped together in a single alphabet. The listing for "Black" composers at first raised a political correctness alert but, on closer scrutiny, "African American" would not suffice. The listing for Jewish composers raises the old question, "What is a Jewish composer?" which the present reviewer does not wish to discuss in this review.

A section named "Orchestralogy" is, in effect, a bibliography. However, since it includes not only printed matter, but Web sites and institutions--each entry is provided with an informative annotation--perhaps Daniels's coinage is not inappropriate.

A comprehensive tide index covers some sixty pages leading to the ninety-two-page listing of publishers and sources. This latter section is greatly revised since the fourth edition, as the music publishing scene worldwide continues to undergo seismic shifting.

There is a curious section, only three pages long (pp. 729-32) labeled "Extended Contents." It presents the contents of five longer works movement by movement. Included in this section are Handel's Messiah, the two oratorios of Mendelssohn, Honegger's Le roi David, and Minkus's ballet Don Quixote. For each, there is a duration listed for each movement. However, while Daniels lists each movement of ]. S. Bach's Magnificat and Mass in B Minor along with the timings in the main section, he does not list in either place a similar breakdown of either of Bach's two best known passion settings--a minor point, but a curious one.

A sizable public--both within and beyond the music library community--has relied on the information contained in the Daniels books. They will not only be pleased with the present edition but will applaud the fact diat the publisher has managed to increase the size of the book by 25 percent while retaining the price of the fourth edition. One small, niggling criticism concerns die binding. Unlike the four preceding editions, this one is not bound in buckram but in a stiff board binding with glossy paper covering. It may prove as durable as buckram, but only time will tell.

Joseph Boonin

Walnut Creek, CA
COPYRIGHT 2016 Music Library Association, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Boonin, Joseph
Article Type:Book review
Date:Jun 1, 2016
Previous Article:Collectionner la musique: Erudits collectionneurs [Collecting Music: Erudite Collectors].
Next Article:The Mystery of Chopin's Preludes.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters