Printer Friendly

Cote d'Ivoire to host 2019 Wafu Women's Cup.

Cote d'Ivoire have been announced as the host country for the 2019 West African Football Union (WAFU) Zone B Women's Cup in May.

The west African region's football body took the decision after the nation successfully staged the maiden edition in 2018.

Eight countries will take part in the regional showpiece with Senegal, Mali and Guinea set to feature as guests from Zone A.

Hosts Cote d'Ivoire are pooled in Group A alongside Niger, Senegal and Benin Republic for the second edition of the tournament.

While in Group A, defending champions Ghana will face Mali, reigning African queens Nigeria and Guinea.

Togo and Burkina Faso will miss out of this year's edition billed for the Felix Houphouet-Boigny and Robert Champroux stadia.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Ghanaian Chronicle (Accra, Ghana)
Geographic Code:6COTE
Date:Feb 7, 2019
Previous Article:The Culture of Political Violence at Polling Stations.
Next Article:Kotoko sign Habib, Teguy for Confederations Cup.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |