Printer Friendly

Comelec-finally-proclaims 12 senators.

THE Commission on Elections finally pushed through with the twice-postponed proclamation of 12 senators-elect on Wednesday, with three neophytes, endorsed by President Duterte, looking the most visibly enthused.

Former Senate President Koko Pimentel, president of Duterte's party PDP Laban, lingered onstage with the three neophytes after the proclamation - former Duterte special assistant Christopher 'Bong' Go, former National Police chief Ronald 'Bato' dela Rosal, and former MMMDA chairman Francis Tolentino. They ranked third, fifth and seventh, respectively, in the Magic 12.

The Commission en banc, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), made the proclamation at the Comelec Command Center at the PICC in Pasay.

The commissioners took turns reading aloud the declarations formalizing each of the 12 winners' proclamation, before handing each one the certificate of proclamation.

Reelectionists dominated the winners. According to their ranks, they are: Senators Cynthia Villar, the topnotcher, Grace Poe (second), Sonny Angara (sixth), Pimentel (10th) and Nancy Binay (12th).

There were comebacking senators as well: Manuel 'Lito' Lapid, Pilar 'Pia' Cayetano and Ramon 'Bong' Revilla Jr.

Completing the 12 winners was former Ilocos Norte governor Imee Marcos.

Their terms of of office will start this June 30 and end on June 30, 2025.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Mirror (Makati City, Philippines)
Date:May 22, 2019
Previous Article:Senator Kiko resigns from top LP post after 'Otso Diretso' debacle.
Next Article:PhilMech set to aid farmers.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters