Printer Friendly

Colorado Association of REALTORS(R) Installs Leadership: Cowperthwaite, Zadel and Matthias Assume Top Posts.

DENVER -- The Colorado Association of REALTORS[R] (CAR) elected and installed its 2006-2007 leadership during the association's 86th annual convention in Colorado Springs earlier this month. The 27,500-member trade association selected Kit Cowperthwaite as president, Greg Zadel as president-elect and Scott Matthias as treasurer.

Kit Cowperthwaite, president, has served the Colorado Association of REALTORS[R], the Denver Board of REALTORS and the National Association of REALTORS[R] in various capacities including CAR director from 2003 to 2005 and chair of the state REALTOR[R] Political Action Committee in 2005. Cowperthwaite was profiled by the Denver Business Journal as one of Denver's leading residential real estate professionals. His clients have described him as "going beyond the norm" in his efforts to protect their interests. A fourth-generation Denver native, Cowperthwaite is a broker with Distinctive Properties LTD specializing in residential sales.

Greg Zadel, president-elect, has been very active with the local, state and national REALTOR[R] organizations. He previously served as president for the North Metro Denver REALTOR[R] Association, treasurer for the Colorado Association of REALTORS[R], and was a director for the National Association of REALTORS[R]. In addition, Zadel has chaired and served on numerous committees at the local, state and national levels. He is broker/owner of Zadel and Associates Realty.

Scott Matthias, treasurer, has been a CAR director since 2002, and was the association's Metro District vice president in 2003. As a leader at CAR, Matthias has served as co-chair of the Political Survival Fund (PSF), chair of the Technology Committee and was President of CARHOF (Colorado Association of REALTORS Housing Opportunity Foundation). In 1988, Matthias was awarded the Don B. Weist Rookie of the Year Award, followed in 1990 by being named the South Metro Denver REALTOR of the Year. Matthias will chair the 2007 CAR Finance Committee and is currently a broker with Prestige Real Estate Group.

Other members serving on the 2007 CAR Leadership Team are:

* Michael Labout, Immediate Past President, ERA Shields Real Estate

* Kay Watson, Appointed Past President, Kay Watson-Metro Brokers, Inc.

* Don DiFiori, Metro District V.P., ERA McGill Realty

* Bonnie Smith-Allen, Mountain District V.P., Exclusive Mountain Retreats Real Estate

* James Plaster, Northeast District V.P., ERA Tradewind Real Estate

* Tina Harbin, Northwest District V.P., Bray Real Estate

* Lori VanDerWege, Southeast District V.P., Rusinak Real Estate

* Sarah Goodwin, Southwest District V.P., Main Group Realty

* George Harvey, Education Division V.P., Telluride Properties

* Heidi Greer-Moser, Governmental Affairs Division V.P., Prestige Real Estate Group

* Doug Barber, Law and Policy Division V.P., The Rawhide Company

The Colorado Association of REALTORS is the state's largest real estate trade association that represents more than 27,500 members statewide. The association supports private property rights, equal housing opportunities and is the "Voice for Real Estate" in Colorado.
COPYRIGHT 2006 Business Wire
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2006, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Business Wire
Date:Nov 1, 2006
Previous Article:Is The U.S. Online Population Misunderstood?
Next Article:AmerUs Group Reports Third Quarter Results.

Related Articles
More women legislators and leaders.
NAR announces branch for Manhattan brokers.
IREM elects new officers for 2006.
NAR honored with digital media award.
Web site helps buyers home in on the `green'.
Manhattan Association of Realtors.
Move, Inc.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters