Printer Friendly

Clarke set to join line of nation's great poets.

THE National Poet of Wales, Gillian Clarke, has been awarded the Queen's Gold Medal for Poetry - an honour awarded to such literary giants as WH Auden, Philip Larkin and Ted Hughes.

The honour recognises the Cardiff-born writer's body of work which culminated in the collection A Recipe for Water, published in 2009.

The 73-year-old poet, who is married with three children, has pioneered the teaching of creative writing and co-founded Tye Newydd, the North Wales writers' centre.

And her work has been set for GCSE English for a num er of years.

Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy, who chaired the medal's judging panel, described Clarke as "part of the literary landscape of this country".

Past recipients of the Gold Medal include WH Auden (1936), John Betjeman (1960), Philip Larkin (1965), Stevie Smith (1969) and Ted Hughes (1974). It was instituted in 1933 at the suggestion of the then Poet Laureate, John Masefield, by George V. The honour is awarded for excellence in poetry for either a body of work or an outstanding poetry collection published during the year of the award.

Clarke will receive her honour from the Queen next year.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2010 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Western Mail (Cardiff, Wales)
Geographic Code:4EUUK
Date:Dec 24, 2010
Previous Article:Sport will be Queen's message highlight.
Next Article:Katherine wings it and sings it for troops on grounded jet; SINGER GIVES CONCERT AS AFGHANISTAN FLIGHT HALTED.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters