Printer Friendly

Chronology of major events related to LDP.

TOKYO, Sept. 10 Kyodo

The following is a chronology of major events related to the Liberal Democratic Party.

Nov. 1955 -- LDP formed through merger of conservative parties.

April 1956 -- Prime Minister Ichiro Hatoyama elected as 1st LDP president.

Oct. 1956 -- Hatoyama normalizes ties with Russia before stepping down.

Dec. 1956 -- Tanzan Ishibashi replaces Hatoyama as 2nd president and forms his own Cabinet, but he resigns next year due to illness.

Feb. 1957 -- Nobusuke Kishi assumes premiership and becomes 3rd LDP president next month.

May 1960 -- LDP railroads Japan-U.S. Security Treaty.

July 1960 -- Hayato Ikeda replaces Kishi as LDP president, assuming premiership.

Dec. 1960 -- Ikeda Cabinet approves income-doubling plan.

Oct. 1964 -- Ikeda announces resignation the day after Tokyo Olympic Games close.

Nov. 1964 -- Eisaku Sato becomes 5th LDP president and assumes premiership.

Dec. 1967 -- Sato declares 3 nonnuclear principles in the Diet.

May 1972 -- Okinawa returns to Japanese sovereignty from the United States.

July 1972 -- Kakuei Tanaka replaces Sato at age 54.

Sept. 1972 -- Tanaka visits China, normalizing ties.

Dec. 1974 -- Takeo Miki forms his Cabinet after becoming 7th LDP president.

July 1976 -- Ex-premier Tanaka arrested over Lockheed scandal.

Dec. 1976 -- Takeo Fukuda replaces Miki.

Aug. 1977 -- Fukuda issues principles on diplomacy with southeastern Asian countries, the so-called ''Fukuda Doctrine,'' in Manila.

Dec. 1978 -- Masayoshi Ohira replaces Fukuda.

June 1979 -- Ohira chairs Tokyo Summit meeting.

July 1980 -- Zenko Suzuki becomes prime minister following Ohira's death.

Nov. 1982 -- Yasuhiro Nakasone replaces Suzuki.

Nov. 1987 -- Noboru Takeshita replaces Nakasone.

April 1989 -- Consumption tax introduced.

June 1989 -- Takeshita resigns, hit by the Recruit stock-for-favors scandal, and Sosuke Uno assumes premiership.

July 1989 -- Uno steps down following LDP's defeat in upper house election, replaced by Toshiki Kaifu.

Nov. 1991 -- Kiichi Miyazawa replaces Kaifu as 15th LDP president and premier.

July 1993 -- LDP fails to secure majority in general election, leading Miyazawa to resign. Yohei Kono becomes LDP president.

Aug. 1993 -- LDP ousted from power after Morihiro Hosokawa forms non-LDP coalition Cabinet.

June 1994 -- LDP returns to power under socialist prime minister Tomiichi Murayama.

Jan. 1996 -- Ryutaro Hashimoto assumes premiership after replacing Kono as LDP president the previous year.

July 1998 -- Keizo Obuchi replaces Hashimoto, enacting laws over new Japan-U.S. defense cooperation guidelines, national anthem and flag.

April 2000 -- Yoshiro Mori assumes premiership following Obuchi's collapse.

April 2001 -- Junichiro Koizumi replaces Mori as 20th LDP president and premier.

Sept. 2002 -- Koizumi visits Pyongyang to sign Japan-DPRK Pyongyang Declaration.

Dec. 2006 -- Shinzo Abe assumes premiership, replacing Koizumi.

Sept. 2007 -- Yasuo Fukuda replaces Abe.

Sept. 2008 -- Fukuda announces resignation after hosting the G-8 summit in Hokkaido, calling for LDP presidential election.
COPYRIGHT 2008 Kyodo News International, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2008 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Japan Policy & Politics
Date:Sep 15, 2008
Previous Article:N. Korea dismisses reports of leader's ill health.
Next Article:LEAD: Japan trying to obtain information on Kim Jong Il's health condition.

Related Articles
Chronology of events up to LDP-LP coalition gov't.
Chronology of events related to postwar Constitution.
Chronology of events related to DPJ President Maehara.
LEAD: Chronology of major events in Shinzo Abe's life.
Chronology of major events in Shinzo Abe's life.
LEAD: Chronology of events related to DPJ leader Ozawa.
Chronology of events related to DPJ.
LEAD: Chronology of events related to DPJ.
LEAD: Chronology of major events related to DPJ.
LEAD: Chronology of major events related to LDP.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |