Printer Friendly

Children's Book Award ordering information.

WILPF branches may purchase sets of 2004 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards books for donation to schools and libraries at a special price. The nine volumes (the winner in each category, two honor books in each category, plus three Special Commendation books) are offered for $90 plus $10 shipping and insurance, a total of just $100 for these amazing children's books.

Each set includes: Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez by Kathleen Krull, illustrated by Yuyi Morales (Harcourt Children's Books), winner, Picture Book category; Out of Bounds: Seven Stories of Conflict and Hope by Beverley Naidoo (HarperCollins Children's Books), winner, Books for Older Children; Girl Wonder: A Baseball Story in Nine Innings by Deborah Hopkinson, illustrated by Terry Widener (Atheneum Books for Young Readers) and Luba: The Angel of Bergen-Belsen by Michelle R. McCann, illustrated by Ann Marshall (Tricycle Press), honor books, Picture Book category; Getting Away with Murder: The True Story of the Emmett Till Case by Chris Crowe (Phyllis Fogelman Books/Penguin Books for Young Readers) and Shutting Out the Sky: Life in the Tenements of New York 1880-1924 by Deborah Hopkinson (Orchard Books), honor books, Books for Older Children category; and the trilogy The Breadwinner, Parvana's Journey, and Mud City by Deborah Ellis (Groundwood Books/Douglas & McIntyre), Special Commendation.

To order, write to: Award Book Orders, c/o Millee Livingston, 11251 Tahoe Street, Auburn, CA 95602-9235. Include a check for $100 per set payable to: JAPA. Questions? Email Millee at
COPYRIGHT 2005 Women's International League for Peace and Freedom
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:PeaceEducation
Publication:Peace and Freedom
Date:Mar 22, 2005
Previous Article:WILPF branches strengthen connection to JAPA Children's Books.
Next Article:Cape Cod WILPF starts Joan Patchen fund.

Related Articles
Jane Addams Book Award winners.
"American Dream" classics for kids: the American Library Association's Coretta Scott King Awards, now celebrating its 35th year, set a standard for...
2004 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards.
Literary group names finalists for book awards.
2005 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards.
2006 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards and ceremony announced: how WILPF branches can promote peace to connect with your communities.
JAPA holds book awards ceremony.
Author and artist receives literary award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |