Printer Friendly

Certification in palliative medicine will include D.O.s.

SALT LAKE CITY -- The new subspecialty of hospice and palliative medicine will be open to osteopathic as well as allopathic physicians, following a decision by the American Osteopathic Association's Bureau of Osteopathic Specialists to approve certification in the discipline.

The Feb. 16 action complements a decision by the American Board of Medical Specialties last September to move forward with plans to allow allopathic physicians to become certified in the new subspecialty. ABMS-recognized certification will be offered to physicians in 10 specialties: anesthesiology, emergency medicine, family medicine, internal medicine, pediatrics, physical medicine and rehabilitation, psychiatry and neurology, radiology, surgery, and obstetrics and gynecology.

Osteopathic certification in the new field will be offered to osteopathic physicians in four specialties: family medicine, internal medicine, neurology and psychiatry, and physical medicine and rehabilitation.

Sponsorship of a subspecialty by such a large number of specialty boards is unprecedented, said Dale E. Lupu, Ph.D., chief executive officer of the American Board of Hospice and Palliative Medicine (ABHPM), in Silver Spring, Md. "Having 10 specialties working together is completely new," she said at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine.

It took the ABHPM 10 years to persuade the ABMS to recognize hospice and palliative medicine as a medical subspecialty, Dr. Lupu said. From 1996 through 2006, the ABHPM certified more than 2,800 physicians in hospice and palliative medicine, she added.

The effort to achieve ABMS-recognized subspecialty status also involves accreditation of graduate medical education by the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). "Successful completion of an accredited educational program usually is a prerequisite to admission to an ABMS board examination," Dr. Lupu noted.

Starting in 2008, a new certification exam will be available, administered by cosponsoring ABMS member boards.

During a 5-year grandfather period (2008-2012), physicians from the 10 ABMS specialties can sit for the board exam in hospice and palliative medicine without completing fellowship training, said Dr. Ronald S. Schonwetter, executive vice president and chief medical officer of LifePath Hospice and Palliative Care in Tampa. During this period, applicants must qualify for the exam by having cared for at least 50 terminally ill patients and by meeting other criteria. (Requirements can be viewed at; other information is available at the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine Web site,

After the initial 5-year period, "it will be necessary for [applicants] to take a year-long fellowship training before they can sit for the board and be certified in hospice and palliative medicine," Dr. Schonwetter, a former chairman of the ABHPM, said in an interview.

There's much work to be done, he added, including development of programs in special settings such as psychiatry, neurology, radiology, and anesthesiology "We need to expand our services among hospitals, nursing homes, and assisted living facilities, and we need to educate and understand the needs of physicians from the multiple disciplines" who wish to become palliative care specialists, he said.


Chicago Bureau
COPYRIGHT 2007 International Medical News Group
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2007 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Dixon, Bruce K.
Publication:Internal Medicine News
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 15, 2007
Previous Article:Physicians notified of elevated fracture rate in rosiglitazone-treated women.
Next Article:FDA warns about topical anesthetic misuse and deaths.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters