Printer Friendly

Ceremony of Gratitude - "International Community stood by Pakistan in every step especially during the Disaster".

Byline: _

"International Community has always stood by Pakistan to rebuild lives and communities during the natural disasters and we are grateful to the support provided during the earthquake of October 2005" said by Ms. Farzana Yaqoob Khan, Minister for social Welfare and Women development as Chief Guest on the occasion of "Ceremony of Gratitude" organized by Institute of Peace and Diplomatic Studies and COMSATS institute of information technology. The Ceremony was organized in connection to the completion of decade of the earthquake of 8 October 2005 that shattered the lives of people Pakistan and Kashmir. In her welcome remarks Ms. Farhat Asif, President Institute of Peace and Diplomatic Studies highlighted the importance of event and said that during earthquake of 2005, when Pakistan faced the time of dismay and situation of duress, humanity across the globe came forward and helped brothers and sisters of the region to rebuild lives and bring back the smiles of the people of Pakistan.

In this ceremony "Awards of Gratitude" were conferred to the Ambassadors, diplomats and representative of United Nations volunteers who have contributed in rescue, rehabilitation and reconstruction efforts during Earthquake 2005.

The Ambassadors and diplomats who have received the Memento of Gratitude on behalf of their countries were Mr. Abdul Rehman Habibzai, Cultural Attache, Embassy of Afghanistan, Mr. Hamida Muhammad, deputy head of Mission, Embassy of Algeria, Mr. Lucas Bachmayer, charge d'affaires, Embassy of Austria, Mr. Zaur, first secretary, Embassy of Azerbaijan, Mr. Cesar, head of Counselor section, Embassy of Brazil, H.E Dr. Nedim Makarevic, Ambassador of Bosnia and herzegovina, H.E. Gabriel Tiel Capote, Ambassador of Cuba to Pakistan, Mr. Liu, second secretary, Embassy of China, H.E. Mr. Jan fury, Ambassador of the Czech Republic, Ms. Helle Nielsen, charge d'affaires, Embassy of Denmark, Mr. Stefano Gatto, charge d'affaires, European Union delegation to Pakistan, Ms. Agnes Pompos deputy head of Mission, Embassy of hungary, Maj Gen (R) Nawaf Khalifeh Ibrahim Saraireh, Ambassador of Jordan, Colonel Mohd Azhar Zainal Abidin, Defence Advisor, high Commission of Malaysia,

H.E Mr. Piotr Opalinski, Ambassador of the Republic of Poland, H.E. Mr. Emilian Ion, the Ambassador of Romania, Ms. Britt Bhatt, deputy head of Mission, Embassy of Sweden, H.E Mr. Sadik Babur Girgin, Ambassador, Republic of turkey, Mr. Ahmad Kaid Al-odainy, charge d'affaires, Embassy of Yemen, Md Aktar Uddin, UN volunteers, UNDP Pakistan, Mr. Najeeb, Norwegian Church Aid.

At the end Professor Dr. Raheel Qamar, Campus head, CIIT, said that the institute has taken such kind of initiatives and ready to collaborate with international community for the benefit of education and information. He also thanked the Ambassadors and diplomats along with the participants of the ceremony.

COPYRIGHT 2016 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2016 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Diplomatic Insight
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Mar 31, 2016
Previous Article:Institute of Peace and Diplomatic Studies Signed Two agreements of Cooperation with Counterparts in Turkmenistan.
Next Article:Editor's Note.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters