Printer Friendly

Celebration: 442nd Araw ng Pasig.

Today, July 2, is a special non-working day in Pasig, one of the oldest communities of the Philippines. Its city government and residents are celebrating the 442nd anniversary of their townhood. Founded by the Augustinians on July 2, 1573, it was declared the Visitacion Mission Parish, the first Marian parish in the Philippines and in Asia. In 1587, the Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception replaced the Our Lady of the Visitation as patron saint.

On June 11, 1901, Pasig was created and incorporated in the newly created province of Rizal through Act No. 137 of the Philippine Commission, and was its provincial capital until November 7, 1975, when the Metro Manila Commission was created under Presidential Decree No. 824. Republic Act 7829 signed on December 8, 1994, converted the Municipality of Pasig into a highly urbanized city. The people of Pasig ratified the cityhood in a plebiscite on January 21, 1995.

The name "El Pasig" was given by Don Miguel Lopez de Legazpi, the first Spanish Governor-general in the Philippines. Legend has it that the name "Pasig" was derived from the Sanskrit "passis," meaning a community on a sandy river bank. Another source has it that the name comes from the Tagalog word "mabagsik," to describe the Pasig River's current. Still another source, a Filipino linguist, said that "pasig" means "river flowing from one body of water to another," describing the river flowing from Laguna de Bay to Manila Bay.

The city is one of the 16 cities and one municipality comprising Metro Manila, the National Capital Region. Formerly the capital of the province of Rizal before Metro Manila, it has since undergone a remarkable transformation, from residential to commercial and highly urbanized city, with a central business district, high-rise buildings, business centers, condominiums, giant malls, big universities, and well-preserved antique houses. It has a number of recreational and tourist facilities. With a population of 629,563, it is politically subdivided into 30 barangays. It has one congressional district.

Today's festivities will kick off with a Thanksgiving Mass at 6:30 in the morning at the Sta. Clara de Montefalco Church in Caniogan. This will be followed at 7:00 in the morning by a Grand Parade to be participated by the city's 30 barangays in front of the church. There will be a Libreng Sakay sa Araw ng Pasig (Palengke-San Joaquin-Marikina) from 5:00 in the morning till 5:00 in the afternoon, and a Pasig Mega Wide Sale dubbed "Diskwento Pasigueno" in various barangays and establishments of the city from 6:00 in the morning. Other major activities include: a street dancing competition (July 4), the Galing Pasig Awards (July 8), Pasigkatan/Variety Show (July 11), Kasalang Bayan "Araw ng Pasig Bride" (July 18), the State of the City Address (July 22), and a city-wide earthquake drill (July 30).


COPYRIGHT 2015 Manila Bulletin Publishing Corp.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2015 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Opinions and Editorials
Publication:Manila Bulletin
Geographic Code:9PHIL
Date:Jul 1, 2015
Previous Article:Expensive TV advertising spots for top officials.
Next Article:Dividing 'yellows'.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters