Printer Friendly

Canadian regionals' programme extended.

Transport Canada is extending its Regional and Small Airport Divestiture Programme until April 2007 as a key component of the Government's National Airports Policy formulated in 1994. The two-year extension should allow for the remaining eight regional/ local or small airports left under the scheme to complete the transfer process successfully.

Since 1994, 128 regional/local and small airports from the National Airports System have been transferred to local control and are no longer operated by the government. The programme's eight remaining airports are Penticton and Port Hardy in British Columbia, Bonnechere in Ontario, Havre Saint-Pierre in Natashquan, Septiles in Quebec and St Anthony and Wabush airports in Newfoundland and Labrador province.

Transport Minister Jean Lapierre said: "The National Airports Policy has been one of the most successful divestiture programmes in the world. The transfer of the last eight airports will place all Canadian airport communities on an equal footing."

Earlier, the Transport Ministry announced that the ownership of Baie-Comeau Airport, Quebec, had passed to the Manicouagan Regional County Municipality. Transport Canada is contributing C$595,000 ($483,000) for safety-related maintenance.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Key Publishing Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Transport Canada
Publication:Airports International
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1CANA
Date:May 1, 2005
Previous Article:Vancouver's IT drive.
Next Article:Phoenix pipes in PIPS.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters