Printer Friendly

Canadian chemistry and IUPAC.

IUPAC is known to all chemists, and indeed to many others. IUPAC's activities in the naming of new elements and in nomenclature of chemical compounds often appear in the popular press and are noticed by the general public. They also appear in the curricula of many schools and higher education science courses.

Canada's participation in IUPAC has been coordinated since 1993 by the Canadian National Committee for IUPAC (CNC/IUPAC), with a membership of nine. Six are appointed by the Canadian Society for Chemistry and three by the Steacie Institute for Molecular Sciences within the National Research Council Canada (NRC). This body advises the NRC, which is the Canadian National Adhering Organization on Canadian participation in and activities of IUPAC and to promote IUPAC activities within Canada.

IUPAC is open to all, and anyone can submit a proposal to IUPAC for support of a project. These projects are not meant to promote one's individual research, but are intended for promotion of chemistry worldwide, and funds can he given for necessary expenses for such projects. These can be very ambitious efforts or on a smaller scale. Details for applying are available on the IUPAC Web site at, which also lists all current IUPAC projects.

Canada is known for its participation and service in international activities, and its activity in IUPAC is no exception. Canada was a member from the beginning of IUPAC, being accepted into membership at the First International Conference of Chemistry in Rome in June of 1920, joining the five founder nations (France, U.K., U.S., Belgium, and Italy), along with Greece, Poland, Denmark, The Netherlands, Spain, and Czechoslovakia.

Canada began taking a leadership role in IUPAC after World War II, with E. W. R. Steacie serving as a president of the Physical Chemistry Section from 1951 to 1955. Others who have served as presidents of this Division are Norman Jones (1973 to 1977), and Ron D. Weir, FCIC (Royal Military College, Kingston), for 2004 to 2005.

Presidents of the Organic Division have been Leo Marion (1961 to 1963), who was also an elected member of the IUPAC Bureau from 1965 to 1969, Peter Yates, FCIC (1977 to 1979), and Tom Tidwell, FCIC (2001 to 2003).

Others with leadership positions have been W. G. Schneider, FCIC, president of IUPAC from 1983 to 1985; Bryan Henry, FCIC (University of Guelph), vice-president from 2004 to 2005, to become president for 2006 to 2007; and Wilfrid Gallay, secretary general (1971 to 1975).

In addition, Peter Mahaffy, FCIC, is chair of the Subcommittee on the Public Understanding of Chemistry. Erwin Buncel, FCIC, was co-chair of Chemrawn XIII in 1998.

Major IUPAC events in Canada have included the 21st International Chemical Conference in Montreal in 1961, and the 39th Congress together with the 42nd General Assembly in Ottawa in August 2003. Chemrawn I was held in Toronto, ON, in July 1978, with W. G. Schneider as the organizer.

The Bureau is the executive body of IUPAC, and Canadian elected members have been Leo Marion (1965 to 1969), Pierre Grendon (1969 to 1971), David Tonks, FCIC (1979 to 1987), and John Lorimer, FCIC (1994 to 1999). Nelson Wright was a non-voting member of the Bureau as chair of the Committee on Chemistry and Industry (1998 to 2001). Division presidents also serve as ex officio members of the Bureau.

Many others have served as members and leaders on IUPAC Commissions, Working Parties, Task Groups, and Division Committees over the years.

IUPAC also sponsors prizes for the best PhD theses. Two young Canadians were recipients in the 2003 round--Gonzalo Cosa of the University of Ottawa and Martin Trent Lemaire of the University of Victoria.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Chemical Institute of Canada
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry
Publication:Canadian Chemical News
Article Type:Organization overview
Geographic Code:1CANA
Date:Jul 1, 2005
Previous Article:CNC/IUPAC Travel Awards for 2006./Bourses de voyage du CNC/UICPA pour 2006.
Next Article:Canada's 2005 chemistry Olympiad Finalist.

Related Articles
IUPAC Affiliate Membership -- What Could It Mean to You?
CSC Bulletin SCC.
Canadian particpation in IUPAC. (Articles).
The 39th IUPAC Congress and 86th conference of The Canadian Society for Chemistry.
CNC/IUPAC Travel Awards / Bourses de voyage du CNC/UICPA.
CNC/IUPAC Travel Awards for 2006./Bourses de voyage du CNC/UICPA pour 2006.
Chemists' understanding of the public.
U.N. declares 2011 International Year of Chemistry.
CNC-IUPAC Travel Awards for 2009/Bourses de voyage du CNC-UICPA pour 2009.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters