Printer Friendly

Canada : Province Announces Members of Transitional Council to Guide Paramedic Self-regulation.

Fifteen Manitobans will serve on a transitional council that will guide implementation of a college of paramedics, Health, Seniors and Active Living Minister Kelvin Goertzen announced today.

This is an important day for the profession of paramedics in Manitoba, said Goertzen. Paramedics are a critical part of our health-care system and the move toward self-regulation recognizes both this importance and the fact that they are professionals who are continuing to improve their skills and their service to Manitobans.

The minister noted the council will also be responsible for recruiting the first registrar/executive director.

Membership on the council will include emergency medical responders, primary care paramedics, advanced care paramedics and firefighter/paramedics, as well as public representatives. Members were selected to represent the northern and rural parts of the province, as well as Winnipeg.

Appointments to the council include:

as public representatives:

John Wade, former deputy minister of health, past chair of the Winnipeg Regional Health Authority board from Winnipeg (as chair) and physician;

Madeleine Baril, interim dean of the school of nursing and health studies at Universite de St. Boniface from Winnipeg;

Jean E. Cox, a former assistant deputy minister of health from Winnipeg;

David Driedger, CEO of HavenGroup, the HavenGroup Foundation and Steinbach Housing Inc. from Steinbach; and

Jeffrey McConnell, a lawyer with 30 years experience and current mayor of Virden.

as corporate representatives:

Leah Braun, an emergency medical services superintendent for Southern Health-Sante Sud from Portage la Prairie;

Brenna Eastman, a paramedic working as a regional quality officer for Northern Regional Health Authority from Creighton, Sask.;

Christine Greer, an emergency medical dispatcher with the Manitoba Medical Transportation Co-ordination Centre from The Pas;

Bryan Jacobsen, an educator for Prairie Mountain Healths Emergency Medical Service Program from Dauphin;

Karen Martin, a paramedic for Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service from La Salle;

Marilyn McNeill, a paramedic with 15 years experience from Pinawa;

Sarah Peto, a firefighter/paramedic with Brandon Fire and Emergency Services from Brandon;

Cameron Ritzer, an emergency medical services regional manager with the Northern Regional Health Authority from The Pas;

Tom Wallace, the deputy chief of support service for Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service from Winnipeg; and

Ryan Youngson, a firefighter/paramedic for Winnipeg Fire Paramedic Service from Winnipeg.

With todays announcement, we are one step closer to seeing our throne speech commitment to paramedic self-regulation in Manitoba become a reality, Goertzen said. I would like to thank those involved in this process for their participation and feedback as we work toward the creation of a college of paramedics.

The Regulated Health Professions Act will bring all regulated health professions under one umbrella piece of legislation. The act sets out a new way of regulating who does what in the provision of health services, based on the concept of regulating specific health procedures.

[c] 2018 Al Bawaba ( Provided by SyndiGate Media Inc. ( ).
COPYRIGHT 2018 SyndiGate Media Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Geographic Code:1CMAN
Date:Feb 28, 2018
Previous Article:United States : Senator Murray Joins Colleagues to Formally Introduce Resolution to Restore Net Neutrality and Stop Big Internet Providers from...
Next Article:United States : Senator David Perdue Discusses Fixing The Budget Process At Bipartisan Summit.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters