Printer Friendly

CHS boy's track coaches honor 2018 athletes.

Byline: JIM BEERS Contributing Writer

CHESTER -- Chester High School Boy's Track and Field Coaches held the annual CHS Track and Field end-of-the-year awards banquet and awards night Monday May 21. The event was held at the CHS cafeteria with parents, guests, media and athletes in attendance.

CHS Head Boy's Coach Ben Hunter began by thanking CHS administrators, janitors, event workers, timers, booth personnel, and parents for all of the help received this season which made Chester High School meets such a huge success.

"We have a good reputation here at CHS for hosting some of the best meets around," Hunter said. "Our meets are well-staffed and we have the best volunteers, student-athletes and coaches around."

Hunter then recognized all of the coaches that contribute to the success of the CHS Track and Field Program including Steve Spears, Jennifer Cartwright, Jim West, Curt Gilpin, Stan Myers, and Adam Guebert.

"We had a good season this year," Hunter said. "We typically finished in the mid-pack at most meets, but won the 2018 Rocky Bridges Relay Meet and finished 7th in the Black Diamond Conference,

"Ronin Doiron won the pole vault to earn the title of 2018 BDC Pole Vault Champion, and our 4 X 800 relay team of Lance Bohnert, Zach Zappa, Ronin Doiron, and Mitchell Colonel placed 2nd with their best time of the year (9:02.50)", Hunter added.

Finally, the YellowJacket boys finished 6th out of 17 teams at the 2018 IHSA Class 1A Sectional with some very good performances and many personal-best performances.

"Each day was better than the one before," Hunter said. "I was most proud of this year's boy's team than any other team that I have ever coached."

Hunter then began the awards portion of his program. He first recognized his freshmen including Justin Clendenin, Gage Garniss, Tyler Holm, Eli Hughes, Jordan Hughes, Jonathan-Hurst Roy, Matt Korando, Caleb Parker, Jacob Werner, Blake Zappa, and Noah Colonel.

Hunter said, "With this freshman class we have a strong nucleus for the future. They are athletic and hardworking. We have high expectations for the future of CHS track with these guys. There is a lot of raw talent here, but it needs to be refined."

Garniss and Zappa earned their Class of 2021 numerals. Justin Clendenin, Gage Garniss, Tyler Holm, and Caleb Parker earned letters. Jordan Hughes and Matt Korando earned pins.

Sophomore and juniors were then recognized. This group included Chase Colvis, Jacob O'Riley, Trent Bierman, Ronin Doiron, Brendan Murphy, and Chris Schwier. Sophomore patches were earned by Bierman, Doiron, Murphy, and Schwier. Pins were earned by Colvis, O'Riley, Doiron, and Bierman.

"We are definitely thin in the sophomore and junior classes, but what we do have is quality. If these gentlemen continue on the path that they are currently on, they will certainly be successful", said Hunter.

Finally Hunter introduced each senior from his 2018 squad including, David Choate, Lance Bohnert, Mitchell Colonel, Josh Haberberger, Jack Hathaway, Joey Reid, Russ Stallman, Garret Welker, and Zach Zappa.

David Choate earned a letter. Bohnert, Colonel, Haberberger, Hathaway, Reid, Welker, and Zappa earned pins.

Hunter said, "I can't say enough about these guys. They have been here since my start here at CHS. What they lack in flashiness, they make up in character. They always know what needs to be done, and they always get the job done. There is never any complaining. They have a selfless attitude; almost to a fault. These guys have been a joy to coach the past three years. They will definitely be sorely missed. Thank you boys", said Hunter.

Next, Coach Hunter announced the 2018 All-Conference honorees. To earn All-Conference honors an athlete must either win an event or place 2nd at the annual Black Diamond Conference Meet.

All-Conference honorees included Lance Bohnert, Zach Zappa, Ronin Doiron, and Mitchell Colonel for their 2nd Place finish in the 4 X 800 with a time of 9:02.50. This was a personal-best for the season.

Just one Individual earned All-Conference honors. Ronin Doiron was Conference Champion in pole vault with a vault of 10'00".

IHSA Class 1A Sectional Meet medal winners included:

4 X 800 Relay (Lance Bohnert, Zach Zappa, Ronin Doiron, and Mitchell Colonel) 5th Place, 9:12.50.

4 X 100 Relay (Joey Reid, Jack Hathaway, Gage Garniss, Caleb Parker) 4th Place, 47.43.

4 X 200 Relay (Caleb Parker, Jack Hathaway, David Ashby, and Josh Haberberger) 6th Place, 1:40.03.

4 X 400 Relay (Gage Garniss, David Ashby, Ronin Doiron, and Josh Haberberger) 6th Place, 3:44.67.

3200-meter Run: Trent Bierman, 6th 11:21.70.

100-meter Dash: Joey Reid, 5th, 11.88.

110-meter Hurdles: Gage Garniss, 3rd, 16.60.

Major CHS Track and Field Awards for 2018

Rookie of the Year: Gage Garniss

Most Improved: Josh Haberberger

Most Valuable Player (MVP): Mitchell Colonel
COPYRIGHT 2018 Paddock Publications
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Daily Herald (Arlington Heights, IL)
Date:Jun 27, 2018
Previous Article:SIU football sees transfers in and out.
Next Article:SAR honors teachers, students.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters