Printer Friendly

Bowler, Tim. Buried Thunder.

2Q * 4P * J

Bowler, Tim. Buried Thunder. Holiday House, 2011. 215p. $16.95. 978-0-82342397-2.

The Rowan Tree Inn has sat placidly under its thatched roof in a picturesque English forest village for centuries. When fourteen-year-old Maya moves in with her parents and older brother, however, she finds the place anything but peaceful. Disturbing visions, eviscerated foxes, and sinister townspeople seem to conspire with scary night-time noises to keep her thoroughly freaked out.

An old-fashioned horror mystery for fans of Christopher Pike and Lois Duncan, this book is oddly bereft of both backstory and character development: we never discover why Maya's family has moved from London or why her parents and brother are so supportive and protective of her. The resolution of the mystery bears an unfortunate resemblance to an episode of Scooby Doo, and the reveal is artificially drawn out. For all its flaws, however, Buried Thunder is a quick, compulsively readable, page-turner.

2Q Better editing or work by the author might have warranted a 3Q.

4P Broad general or genre YA appeal.

J Junior High (defined as grades 7-9).

COPYRIGHT 2011 E L Kurdyla Publishing LLC
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

 
Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Author:Willey, Paula
Publication:Voice of Youth Advocates
Article Type:Book review
Date:Oct 1, 2011
Words:180
Previous Article:Bick, Ilsa. Ashes.
Next Article:Brewer, Heather. First Kill: The Slayer Chronicles.
Topics:

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2018 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters