Printer Friendly

Board of Governors races set for March.

Fifteen lawyers have been elected without opposition to The Florida Bar Board of Governors and another 26 are running for eight contested seats, including 10 candidates for one 11th Circuit board seat.

Filing closed at 5 p.m. December 15 for the 2004 board elections. Balloting for the races will be in March.

Filing also closed for seats for the Young Lawyers Division Board of Governors. There, 14 lawyers were elected without opposition; five lawyers are running for two seats; and three seats failed to draw any candidates.

Contested Races

Here are the contested races for the Bar Board of Governors:

* In the First Circuit, Seat 1, Ross M. Goodman and Stuart C. Poage of Pensacola and Woodburn S. Wesley of Ft. Walton Beach filed to replace Alan B. Bookman, who has become Bar president-elect designate.

* In the Sixth Circuit, Seat 1, J.D. Hadsall of Treasure Island, Catherine Day Hult of Largo, and Andrew B. Sasso of Clearwater filed to replace retiring board member Louis Kwall.

* In the 11th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Francisco R. Angones of Miami is being challenged by Richard M. Leslie, also of Miami.

* In the 11th Circuit, Seat 5, incumbent Don L. Horn of Miami is being challenged by Henry T. Courtney of South Miami.

* In the 11th Circuit, Seat 7, 10 lawyers filed to replaced retiring board member David Bianchi. They are: William Aaron of Miami, Jeffrey Michael Cohen of Miami, Benedict P. Kuehne of Miami, Guillermo F. Mascaro of Coral Gables, John A. Moore of Miami, Sheri Eva Nott of Coral Gables, Brian Patchen of Miami, Philip Reilly of Miami, Ivar Miles Starr of Miami Beach, and Joel R. Wolpe of Miami.

* In the 15th Circuit, Seat 3, Scott G. Hawkins of West Palm Beach and Daniel Morman of Boca Raton filed to replace retiring board member Michael Kranz.

* In the 17th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Alan C. (Peter) Brandt, Jr., of Ft. Lauderdale is being challenged by Bradley Winston of Plantation.

* In the 18th Circuit, Seat 1, Thomas G. Freeman of Altamonte Springs filed to challenge incumbent Clifton A. MeClelland, Jr., of Melbourne.

Ballots will be mailed by March 1 by the Bar's elections company, Election Services Corporation (ESC). Bar members will again have the option of voting by paper ballot or voting via the Internet on ESC's Web site, All ballots must be cast or received no later than midnight March 22.

If any races result in runoffs, balloting will occur between April 1 and April 22.

Elected without opposition to the Bar board were incumbent Michael J. Glazer in the Second Circuit, Seat 2, incumbent Gregory S. Parker in the Third Circuit, Seat 1, S. Grier Wells in the Fourth Circuit, Seat 1, Charles Chobee Ebbets in the Seventh Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Mayanne Downs in the Ninth Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Warren W. Lindsey in the Ninth Circuit, Seat 3, incumbent Robert M. Brush in the 10th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Ervin A. Gonzalez in the 11th Circuit, Seat 3, incumbent Timon V. Sullivan in the 13th Circuit, Seat 1, Clifford W. Sanborn in the 14th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent John G. White III in the 15th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Jesse H. Diner in the 17th Circuit, Seat 4, incumbent J. Christopher Lombardo in the 20th Circuit, Seat 1, incumbent Ian M. Comisky in Out-of-State, Seat 2, and incumbent Brian D. Burgoon in Out-of-State, Seat 4.

All of the new and returning board members will be sworn in for two-year terms at the Bar's Annual Meeting in June.

YLD Races

Contested races for the YLD board are Curry G. Pajcic and John M. Phillips for the Fourth Circuit, Seat 2, and Kevin M. Kohl, Sara L. Reyes, and Victor R. Smith for the 10th Circuit, Seat 1.

Elected without opposition were William L. Sundberg in the Second Circuit, Seat 1, Kelly A. O'Keefe in the Second Circuit, Seat 2, Kevin B. Cook in the Fourth Circuit, Seat 1, Jewel White Cole in the Sixth Circuit, Seat 1, Brandon S. Vesely in the Sixth Circuit, Seat 2, Scott Westheimer in the 12th Circuit, Seat 1, Alison H. Haskins in the 12th Circuit, Seat 2, William S. Henry in the 14th Circuit, Seat 1, Rachel A. Gorenflo in the 18th Circuit, Seat 1, Starling N. Hendriks in the 20th Circuit, Seat 1, Carlos A. Kelly in the 20th Circuit, Seat 2, Mindi L. Wells in Out-of-State, Seat 1, Victoria E. Wu in Out-of-State, Seat 2, and Scott E. Atwood in Out-of-State, Seat 3.

Vacant seats remain in the Eighth Circuit, Seat 1, the 16th Circuit, Seat 1, and the 18th Circuit, Seat 2.

Anyone interested in serving in those seats should send a letter to YLD Administrator Austin Newberry at The Florida Bar, 651 E. Jefferson St., Tallahassee 32399-2300. Those vacancies will be filled by appointment by YLD Board of Governors.
COPYRIGHT 2004 Florida Bar
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2004 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Florida Bar News
Date:Jan 1, 2004
Previous Article:Foundation seeks board applicants.
Next Article:Middle District judgeship open.

Related Articles
E-voting for Bar elections becomes a reality.
Battle of the boards.
Angones wins reelection, YLD seeks applicants.
Hawkins wins board seat.
Filing for board seats to begin.
Eight win seats on Board of Governors.
Five elected to Bar board, 11th Circuit runoff slated.
Two elected to Bar board, 19th Circuit runoff slated.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2022 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |