Bird's eye view on city from the 60s.
THIS fascinating photograph of the former Liverpool Exchange railway station gives us a bird's eye view of part of the city's commercial district, from Tithebarn Street to the waterfront, in the late 1960s.
It was taken on May 9, 1969, and is one of the images featured in the new book, England's Railway Heritage From The Air, by Peter Waller (Historic England, PS35).
Highly-visible is The Plaza, previously known as The JM Centre/Littlewoods Building (completed 1965), although there is of course no sign of the neighbouring former ECHO headquarters on Old Hall Street - where we were based from 1973 (after moving from Victoria Street) until April this year (when we transferred across the road to St Paul's Square).
Our waterfront, meanwhile, looks very different to that of today - not least the Royal Liver Building, which seemed in need of a good clean!
Liverpool Exchange opened on May 13, 1850, and was redeveloped, due to an increase in passenger demand, between 1886 and 1888. The new, improved station opened on July 2, 1888, and its associated hotel followed on August 13.
Liverpool Exchange suffered severe damage during World War II, while its future was in jeopardy at the time this picture was taken.
Many services had by this time been diverted to Lime Street, and the last long distance services from the station - to Glasgow - operated on May 3, 1970.
Some platforms, meanwhile, closed in May 1973 to allow for the building of the new Moorfields station, while Liverpool Exchange finally closed on April 30, 1977, (the hotel closed six years earlier).
The platform areas and land once occupied by the approach lines became a car park, the train shed was demolished and the former hotel transformed into an office block.