Printer Friendly

Betty Wilson Becomes TEI's President.

On August 9, 2000, Betty M. Wilson of the Arizona Chapter became the 52nd President of Tax Executives Institute. Ms. Wilson, who is Vice President of Taxes for MGM MIRAGE, assumed her new position at the end of TEI's Annual Meeting of Members. The meeting, which was held in Monterey, California, marked the end of the term of Charles W. Shewbridge, III of the Atlanta Chapter, who is Chief Tax Executive for BellSouth Corporation.

Ms. Wilson just completed terms as TEI's Senior Vice president and Chair of the Continuing Education Committee. She has been a member of TEI since 1976 and has been a member of the Institute's Executive Committee for a number of years. She also served as a Regional Vice President, chair of the Membership Requirements Task Force, and chair of TEI's Corporate Tax Management Committee. Prior to joining TEI's Arizona Chapter, Ms. Wilson was a member of the St. Louis Chapter, where she served as Chapter President.

Also installed at the Annual Meeting of Members were Robert L. Ashby of the Nashville Chapter as Senior Vice President, J.A. (Drew) Glennie of the Calgary Chapter as Secretary, and Raymond G. Rossi of the Santa Clara Valley Chapter as Treasurer. Eight Regional Vice Presidents and new Chapter Representatives also assumed office. At a board meeting immediately following the Annual Meeting, the chairs of TEI's steering committees were appointed.

The Board meeting saw the Institute take favorable action on the nomination of Linda B. Burke, formerly of the Pittsburgh Chapter, to receive Honorary Membership. Ms. Burke recently retired from the Aluminum Company of America and assumed the position of Division Counsel for the IRS Large and Mid-Size Business Division. The award will be presented at a future date. The board also granted a charter to a group of tax executives in Austin, Texas, making it the Institute's 53rd chapter.

For additional information, please see this issue's President's Corner.
COPYRIGHT 2000 Tax Executives Institute, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2000, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Tax Executive
Date:Jul 1, 2000
Previous Article:Challenge for a new year: building upon past successes.
Next Article:Top Government and Congressional Officials To Speak at TEI's 55th Annual Conference.

Related Articles
Charles Shewbridge Becomes TEI's President.
TEI's 2000-2001 Leadership Team.
Top Government and Congressional Officials To Speak at TEI's 55th Annual Conference.
LMSB Stands Up and Takes It on the Road.
TEI Consults on Draft Information Circular for APAs.
Meet Betty Wilson.
Annual conference photo highlights.
TEI honors Betty Wilson, Pam Olson during New Orleans conference.
TEI to honor past president Betty Wilson, former Assistant Treasury Secretary Pam Olson.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters