Printer Friendly

Belgium : Publication of preliminary data on Official Development Assistance, 2012.

The OECD Development Assistance Committee (DAC) is the ultimate authority that decides if certain expenditure reported to it (by member states or other donors) qualifies as Official Development Assistance (ODA). The DAC is currently composed of 24 members: Australia, Canada, Japan, Korea, New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, USA, EU15 countries and the EU.

6 EU Member States (i.e., the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Poland, Slovak Republic and Slovenia) are non-DAC OECD members, while another 6 (Bulgaria, Cyprus, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta and Romania) are neither OECD nor DAC Members.

The DAC press release collects and presents individual data for DAC members and non-DAC OECD members, thereby covering the individual ODA performance of 21 EU Member States. In addition, based on the data gathered by the EU Commission for 2013 EU Accountability Report on Financing for Development, DAC presents the collective outcome of the 27 EU Member States, without publishing the individual performance of the six EU Member States that are not part of the OECD.

The Commission presents individual data on all EU Member States, including on those whose data are not available through DAC. Otherwise the data published by the OECD and by the Commission are identical. The EU uses the same current price figures as presented by DAC in the publication of preliminary figures for 2012, reconverted from USD to EUR using the DAC exchange rate.

There are two differences in analysing the changes in ODA volumes:

The Commission presents and analyses data in Euro values, while the DAC uses US Dollars. As the Euro depreciated by about 8% against the US Dollar between 2011 and 2012, the same amount of EUR converted to USD would give a lower figure in 2012 than in 2011. Therefore DAC data in USD in current prices would show a bigger decrease in EU27 ODA (from $73.4 to $65.0 billion) while the EU presentation in EUR shows a smaller decline (from 52.8 to 50.5 billion). This exchange rate difference in evaluation applies for both global figures and individual Member States.

The Commission uses values in nominal terms (current prices) for presenting changes. The DAC presents data both in constant prices and nominal terms, but calculates changes only in constant prices and exchange rates.

Note that ODA to GNI ratios are not affected by the above differences.

In addition to the EU27 ODA that is also presented by the DAC, the EU also presents the EU collective ODA, which is a sum of the ODA reported by the EU Member States and the additional ODA provided by the EU institutions. Most of the EU institutions' ODA spending is, for the purposes of ODA/GNI reporting, imputed to EU Member States, i.e. Member States data include part of the institutions' spending.

2013 Al Bawaba (

Provided by an company
COPYRIGHT 2013 Al Bawaba (Middle East) Ltd.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2013 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Mena Report
Date:Apr 4, 2013
Previous Article:Belgium : Commission launches second call of investment programme for innovative low-carbon technologies.
Next Article:Belgium : President Barroso visits the European GNSS Agency (GSA) in Prague.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters