Printer Friendly

Bauchi Elections: PDP Wins Tafawa-Balewa LGA State Assembly Seat.

AS Bauchi State residents continue to await the end of the political logjam of the gubernatorial election, the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) Mohammed Musa Lumo has been declared the winner of the Lere/Bula State Assembly Constituency in Tafawa Balewa Local Government Area of Bauchi State.

The Local Government Area is one of the three local government areas that make the Federal Constituency which the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, is representing and has won reelection for the 9th Assembly against all odds.

Bauchi State INEC declared that Musa Lumo who contested under the PDP polled a total of 29,933 votes to defeat his closest rival, Murtala Ibrahim of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled a total of 25,210 votes.

It would be recalled that results of the gubernatorial election from the local government area were earlier cancelled by the State Returning Officer, Prof Kyari Mohammed following the declaration by the LGA Collation Officer, Mrs Dominion Anosike, that the collation process was disrupted by armed political thugs who allegedly carted away the original result collation sheets.

This led the national headquarters of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), to send a fact-finding Committee led by the National Commissioner, Information and Voter Education, Festus Okoye, to the State to investigate the circumstances that led to the cancellation of the gubernatorial election results.

The Committee, after its investigations, recommended that the results of the gubernatorial election from the local government area be regenerated and re-collated but the APC and its gubernatorial candidate, incumbent Governor of the State, Mohammed Abdullahi Abubakar got a Federal High Court order stopping the resumption of collation of the gubernatorial election results from the area.

Meanwhile, the State office of INEC through the REC, Ibrahim Abdullahi has declared that it will go ahead with the supplementary election this Saturday, 23rd March in a total of 29 Registration Areas (RAs), 36 Polling Units (PUs) with a total of 22,641 votes across the state where elections were not properly held during the 9th March gubernatorial and State Assembly elections.

COPYRIGHT 2019 Knowledge Bylanes
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2019 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Nigerian Tribune (Oyo State, Nigeria)
Date:Mar 21, 2019
Previous Article:NOUN Apologises To Obasanjo Over Salary As Facilitator.
Next Article:Lagos Government Warns School Owners On Registration.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |