Bar wrongly disqualified.
It wasn't the end of the world for Raised The Bar to be disqualified at Ripon on Wednesday night, even if it was my first two-year-old winner after a frustrating run with my juveniles. But I did think the stewards' decision was open to question.
I do not want to stir up further
debate about the structure of the rules-in this case there was no doubt that the correct rules were used-but, as is often the case, there was a subjective component to the decision, and it looked to me that the stewards, or their secretaries, allowed their hearts to rule their heads.
Nobody disputed that Raised The Bar interfered with Creskeld, but nor did anyone dispute that the interference was accidental. The stewards, therefore, had to decide if our filly had "improved her position" by the interference. They, incredibly, to my mind, decided that she had.
Raised The Bar came from behind Creskeld with just over a furlong to
go. Creskeld's jockey had already
gone for his whip, and used it twice, before any contact took place. He continued to use it without
interruption, while Joe Fanning, on Raised The Bar, concentrated on
steering rather than driving. Yet Raised The Bar finished in front.
How could anyone conclude that she would not have finished at least as far in front had the interference not taken place? Thus, she did not improve her position and, if the rules were applied objectively, she should have kept the race.
|Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback|
|Publication:||The Racing Post (London, England)|
|Date:||Jun 2, 2001|
|Previous Article:||Julie's decision to quit highlights the fault-lines in industry funding.|
|Next Article:||The calm before the storm.|