Printer Friendly

BVS Parsi, Arts and Science Academy, Happy Home steal scrabble limelight.

KARACHI -- Hammad Hamid, Abdullah Ayub, Ali Wasif, Sulamena Mohiuddin and Ali Raza Pabany emerged winners in the respective divisions of the two-day Horlicks 19th Inter-School Scrabble Championship which concluded here at the BVS Parsi School on Sunday.

Once again Happy Home School and BVS Parsi School dominated the games, winning a number of trophies

With a staggering 1780 players taking part, the scrabble tournament beame the largest ever contested anywhere in the world. It also turned out to be the largest tournament of any individual sport in the history of Pakistan.

Abdullah Ayub from Badin and Arif Hussain from Quetta received a standing ovation from the large crowd as chief guest Usaid Mandvia distributed prizes among the winners. Tariq Pervez was the Tournament Director.Earlier, on the first day of the tournament on Saturday, BVS Parsi School stole the limelight by bagging 7 of the 15 positions on offer, with Arts and Science Academy bagging 4 and Happy Home School following suit with 2.

Five of the ten age categories were played on Saturday.

In a break from the past events, the top 10 players of each category were acknowledged with medals with the top three getting trophies.

Muhammad Yadaan, Huzaifa Faisal, Misbah-ur-Rehman, Maleeh Khan and momina Riaz emerged as winners of the first five divisions respectively.

Results: (Sunday)

Division F: 1 S. Hammad Hamid, Happy Home School; 2 Umna Saad, Jaffer Public School; 3 Aish Salahuddin, BVS Parsi School

Division G: 1 Abdullah Ayub, Army Public School, Badin; 2 Ahmed Atta, Amma Foundation School; 3 Muhammad Azain, Arts and Science Academy

Division H: 1 Ali Wasif, BVS Parsi School; 2 Mustafa Aslam, BVS Parsi School; 3 M. Shabaz Murtaza, Karachi Grammar School

Division I: 1 Suleman Mohiuddin, Happy Home School; 2 Hamza Babar, Happy Home School; 3 Muhammad Asad Anwar, The City School

Division J: 1 Ali Raza Pabany, IBA; 2 Arif Hussain, BUITEMS, Quetta; 3 S. Shahmir Shahzar, Beaconhouse School System

Results (Saturday):

Division A: 1 Muhammad Yadaan Happy Home School; 2. Muhammad Basir Ahmed BVS Parsi School; 3 Mishaal Adnan Happy Home School

Division B: 1 Huzaifa Faisal Maniya Beaconhouse School Systems; 2 Muhammad Qaim Abbas BVS Parsi School; 3 Raiq Rehman Generation's School

Division C: 1. Misbah ur Rehman BVS Parsi School; 2 Abdul Hadi Khalil BVS Parsi School; 3 Abdullah Jilani Arts and Science Academy

Division D: 1 Muhammad Maleeh Khan BVS Parsi School; 2 Saad Ahmed BVS Parsi School; 3 Muhammad Anas Farhan Happy Home School

Division E: 1 Momina Riaz Arts and Science Academy; 2 Muhammad Faiq Muneer Arts and Science Academy; 3 Zehra Zaim Arts and Science Academy

COPYRIGHT 2018 Asianet-Pakistan
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Dawn (Karachi, Pakistan)
Geographic Code:9PAKI
Date:Feb 6, 2018
Previous Article:Hamza becomes first Pakistani to qualify for China Open.
Next Article:Wapda clinch TT titles.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2019 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters