Printer Friendly


Byline: The Register-Guard

Arson investigators

honor Springfield man

SPRINGFIELD - Deputy Fire Marshal Brian Parmelee was named Oregon's "Arson Investigator of the Year" by the International Association of Arson Investigators.

Parmelee received the award Wednesday night at the association's annual awards banquet in Seaside. He has worked for the Springfield fire department for 14 years and became a deputy fire marshal in 1999.

He investigated a series of 13 arson fires set in the city's historic Washburn District beginning in January 2004. Those fires ended and a second series of six other fires began in east Springfield. All were deliberately set and shared many characteristics, but few clues were found at the scene.

With the help of police detectives, Parmelee built a comprehensive chronology of the fires and related events. Investigators soon identified a single suspect whose movements matched up with the chronology. David Michael Franz, now 30, was indicted on 25 counts of first- and second-degree arson. He was convicted in February and sentenced to a term of 7 1/2 to 15 years.

Parmelee is the second Springfield deputy fire marshal to win the prestigious award. Joe Wicks won it in 2002.

Fire department

congratulates director

SPRINGFIELD - McKenzie Fire and Rescue recognized Director Don McClure for his 30 years of service at the monthly board meeting on Tuesday.

McClure joined the department as a volunteer firefighter in 1975 and has served as director for the past 24 years. Board President Jason Reed and Chief Dale Ledyard presented McClure with a mounted, engraved ax.

Oak Grove rest area

to close for maintenance

The Oak Grove rest area, located approximately 6 miles north of Coburg on Interstate 5, will be closed Monday through Sept. 30 for yearly maintenance, the state Department of Transportation said. Both northbound and southbound rest areas will be closed during that time.

Lane commissioner

appointed to posts

The National Association of Counties has appointed Lane County Board of Commissioners chair Anna Morrison to be vice chair of the association's rural action caucus steering committee and a member of the public lands steering committee.

The rural action caucus represents the nation's rural counties on Capitol Hill and with the administration and federal agencies. The public lands steering committee addresses matters relating to federally owned public lands, including shared natural resource payments, payments in lieu of taxes and federal land management programs.

For more information, call 682-3747.

Send announcements to: Briefly News at The Register-Guard, P.O. Box 10188, Eugene, OR 97440; fax 683-7631; or e-mail rgnews
COPYRIGHT 2005 The Register Guard
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:General News; REGION
Publication:The Register-Guard (Eugene, OR)
Date:Sep 23, 2005
Previous Article:Walker hits Kulongoski's letter on gas price probe.
Next Article:FOR THE RECORD.

Related Articles

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |