Printer Friendly

BOOKS: Post competition - Win the entire Whitbread shortlist.

This is your chance to win a fabulous literary prize worth hundreds of pounds - the entire 2005 Whitbread Book Awards shortlist.

In one fell swoop, you could add this year's most enjoyable books to your bookshelf and enjoy weeks of fantastic and stimulating reading, dipping into biography, novels, poetry and children's books.

The Birmingham Post has teamed up with the Whitbread Book Awards 2005 to offer one lucky reader the chance to win a complete set of the 20 books shortlisted for the 2005 Whitbread Book Awards.

That's about pounds 250 worth of books. Now in its 35th year, the Whitbread Book Awards, established in 1971, have the single aim of celebrating the most enjoyable books of the last year by writers based in the UK and Ireland.

The Whitbread Book Awards have five categories: novel, first novel, biography, poetry and children's book. And there are four books shortlisted in each category.

Each category's shortlist was chosen by a panel of judges, who this year included writer and broadcaster John Humphrys; authors Philippa Gregory, Margaret Drabble and Linda Newbery; comedy writer and performer Arabella Weir and CBBC children's presenter Lizo Mzimba.

The shortlist of 20, which was whittled down from a record 476 entries, was

announced this week. They are


Nick Hornby (pictured): A Long Way Down (Viking) Salman Rushdie: Shalimar The Clown (Jonathan Cape) Ali Smith: The Accidental (Hamish Hamilton) Christopher Wilson: The Ballad of Lee Cotton (Little, Brown


Tash Aw: The Harmony Silk Factory (Harper Perennial) Diana Evans: 26a (Chatto & Windus) Peter Hobbs: The Short Day Dying (Faber and Faber) Rachel Zadok: Gem Squash Tokoloshe (Pan Macmillan


Nigel Farndale: Haw-Haw (Macmillan) Richard Mabey: Nature Cure (Chatto & Windus) Alexander Masters: Stuart: A Life Backwards (Fourth Estate) Hilary Spurling: Matisse The Master (Hamish Hamilton


David Harsent: Legion (Faber and Faber) Christopher Logue: Cold Calls (Faber and Faber) Richard Price: Lucky Day (Carcanet) Jane Yeh: Marabou (Carcanet


Frank Cottrell Boyce: Framed (Macmillan) Geraldine McCaughrean (pictured): The White Darkness (Oxford University Press) Hilary McKay: Permanent Rose (Hodder Headline) Kate Thompson: The New Policeman (The Bodley Head

The winners in each category will be announced on January 4, 2006, and they go through to compete for the prestigious Whitbread Book of the Year 2005, which will be announced at a glittering awards ceremony in central London on January 24, 2006.

Since the introduction of the Whitbread Book of the Year award in 1985, it has been won seven times by a novel, three times by a first novel, four times by a biography, five times by a collection of poetry and once by a children's book

Previous winners and nominees include Andrea Levy, Philip Pullman, Ted Hughes, Mark Haddon and, of course, J K Rowling.

For your chance to add some of this year's most enjoyable books to your bookcase, simply answer the following question

How many years has the Whitbread Book of the Year been won by a novel

A 3 B 6 C 7

Put your answer - along with your name and address - on your postcard and send it to Whitbread Books competition, The Birmingham Post, Features Dept, PO Box 78, Weaman St, Birmingham, B4 6AT.

The last date for entries is noon on Monday, December 5.

Usual Post rules apply
COPYRIGHT 2005 Birmingham Post & Mail Ltd
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2005 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:Features
Publication:The Birmingham Post (England)
Date:Nov 19, 2005
Previous Article:BOOKS: A mint story of imperialism; This Sceptred Isle: Empire, by Christopher Lee, BBC Books, pounds 20.
Next Article:BOOKS: CHILDREN'S BOOKS; An exquisite book of traditional Grimm brothers tales charms.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters