Printer Friendly

Azad Jammu Kashmir 18-member cabinet sworn in.

MUZAFFARABAD, August 03, 2011 (Frontier Star): Newly-inducted 18 ministers of the Azad Jammu & Kashmir cabinet took oath of their office Tuesday at a ceremony held on the lawn of the Legislative Assembly. President of the state Raja Zulqurnain Haider took oath from the new entrants in the AJK cabinet. Before the oath-taking Secretary Services Riaz Akhtar Chaudhry read out the notification of the names of the new members of the state cabinet. There was, however, no mention of their portfolios. Those who took the oath of their office included Ch Arshad, Sardar Qamar Zaman, Ch Latif Akbar, Pervaiz Ashraf, Mian Abdul Waheed, Ch Ali Shan Soni, Abdul Majid Khan, Abar Ibrahim, Akhtar Hussain Rabbani, Ch Rashid, Abdul Salam Butt, Akhtar Shahid, Matloob Inqalabi, Javed Iqbal Badhnawi,Zaheer Gilani, Faisal Mumtaz Rathor, Bazal Naqvi and Sardar Javed Ayub. According to sources, four names were removed from the list just moments before the oath taking. They were Shazia Akbar, Pir Atiqur Rehman, Tahir Khokar and Barrister Sultan. After the oath taking, Prime Minister AJK Ch Abdul Majeed and PPP General Secretary Jahangir Badr while addressing a joint press conference announced the portfolios of the ministers. According to them Sardar Qamar was given Health Ministry, Ch Arshad Electricity; Mian Wahid, Education; Matloob Inqalabi Education Colleges; Mian Badhanwi, Food; Majid Khan, Rehabilitation; Bazil Naqvi, Information; Pervaiz Ashraf, Housing; Abdul Salam Butt, civil defence; Javed Ayub, Forestry; Ali Shan Soni, Revenue; Akbar Ibrahim, Industries; Ch Latif Akbar, Finance & PNDP; Akhtar Rabbani, Agriculture; Akhtar Shahid, Auqaf; Ch Rashid, roads networks and Zaheer Gilani, Law.

COPYRIGHT 2011 Asia Pulse Pty Ltd
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2011 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:The Frontier Star (Northwest Frontier Province, Pakistan)
Date:Aug 3, 2011
Previous Article:Oath taking ceremony of additional judges of PHC held.
Next Article:Kharotabad inquiry committee recommends dismissal of SHO, ASI, trial of former CCPO.

Terms of use | Copyright © 2017 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters