Printer Friendly


Hurston/Wright Legacy Awards

The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation, founded in 1990 by writer Marita Golden, presented its first ever Hurston/Wright LEGACY Awards during a gala event recently in Washington, D.C. The ceremony was attended by a who's who of the black writers, including Terry McMillan, Paul Robeson Jr., E. Lynn Harris, Nathan McCall and Connie Briscoe to name a few. Cash prizes in three categories: fiction, debut fiction and nonfiction, were presented to winners and finalists. First place winners, Percival Everett, David Anthony Durham and Ken Wiwa received $10,000 in each in their respective categories, and two finalists in each category received $5,000. The Hurston/Wright LEGACY Award, co-sponsored by BORDERS Books and Music, is the first national award presented to published writers of African descent by the national community of black writers.

BWA Gold Pen Awards

The Black Writers Alliance (BWA) announced the winners of the 2002 Gold Pen Awards. The BWA established the awards in 2000 to recognize the best in literature of the African Diaspora. The awards will be presented during the Gold Pen Awards Banquet on Saturday, August 23, 2003 at the 2003 Black Writer's Reunion & Conference in Los Angeles, California. For more information, visit For a complete list of winners, visit BIBR's website at www.
COPYRIGHT 2003 Cox, Matthews & Associates
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2003, Gale Group. All rights reserved. Gale Group is a Thomson Corporation Company.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Publication:Black Issues Book Review
Article Type:Brief Article
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Jan 1, 2003
Previous Article:Deals. (Between the lines: the inside scoop on what's happening in the publishing industry).
Next Article:Prizes.

Related Articles
Literary awards.
Mary Louise Burger receives Patty Smith Hill Award.
HRH Construction awarded BTEA's annual safety award.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |