Printer Friendly


Susan Athey was elected a vice president of die American Economic Association.

Jonathan Berk and the late Richard Green were awarded the Stephen Ross Prize, a biannual award from the Foundation for the Advancement of Research in Financial Economics for a paper in financial economics published in the last 15 years, for "Mutual Fund Flows and Performance in Rational Markets."

John Beshears, James Choi, David Laibson, and Brigitte Madrian received the TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award for Outstanding Scholarly Writing on Lifelong Financial Security, for their paper, "Does Aggregated Returns Disclosure Increase Portfolio Risk-Taking?"

Francine D. Blau was awarded the 2017 Jacob Mincer Award by the Society of Labor Economists in recognition of lifetime contributions to the field of labor economics.

Anne C. Case was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, and the National Academy of Medicine. She and Angus Deaton received the Franklin Founder Award, recognizing excellence in a field germane to the interests of Benjamin Franklin.

Wesley Cohen received the Wiley Technology Innovation Management Distinguished Scholar Award, a lifetime achievement award conferred by the Technology Innovation Management Division of the Academy of Management.

Janet Currie received an honorary doctorate from the University of Zurich.

Stefano DellaVigna and Brian Knight, and their coauthors Ruben Durante and Eliana La Ferrara, received the American Economic Journal: Applied Economics Best Paper Prize for their paper, "Market-Based Lobbying: Evidence from Advertising Spending in Italy."

Dave Donaldson received the John Bates Clark Medal from the American Economic Association and was elected a Fellow of the Econometric Society.

Darrell Duffie and Haoxiang Zhu and their coauthor Piotr Dworczak won a 2017 Amundi Pioneer Prize from the American Finance Association, awarded annually for the top three papers in fields other than corporate finance, for their paper, "Benchmarks in Search Markets."

Mara Faccio was elected a director of the American Finance Association.

Pinelopi Goldberg was elected a vice president of the American Economic Association.

Claudia Goldin received an honorary doctorate from the European University Institute.

Gautam Gowrisankaran was awarded an honorary doctorate from the University of Oulu in Finland.

John Graham was awarded the American Taxation Association Outstanding Manuscript Award for "Tax Rates and Corporate Decision-Making," a joint paper with Michelle Hanlon and Terry Shevlin. He, Campbell R. Harvey, and their coauthors Ilia Dichev and Shiva Rajgopal also received a Graham and Dodd Scroll for their paper, "The Misrepresentation of Earnings."

Gene M. Grossman presented the Ohlin Lectures at the Stockholm School of Economics.

Rucker Johnson received an Andrew Carnegie fellowship.

Sebnem Kalemli-Ozcan was a Houblon Norman Fellow at the Bank of England and a Council of Foreign Relations International Economics Fellow.

Anil Kashyap was awarded the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon by the Emperor of Japan for his role in promoting and disseminating high-quality research on the Japanese financial system and Japan's economic policies.

Olivia S. Mitchell received an honorary doctorate from the Goethe University of Frankfurt.

Juhani Lillainmaa and coauthors Stephen Foerster, Brian Melzer, and Alessandro Previtero received a 2017 Amundi Pioneer Prize for Distinguished Paper from the American Finance Association for their paper, "Retail financial advice: Does one size fit all?"

Adriana Lleras-Muney was elected to the executive committee of the American Economic Association.

Matteo Maggiori was awarded a National Science Foundation CAREER grant. He also received an Excellence Award in Global Economic Affairs from the Kiel Institute for the World Economy, and a Young Researcher Award from the London Business School AQR Asset Management Institute.

Ariel Pakes was elected to the National Academy of Sciences and awarded the Institute of Industrial Economics' Jean-Jacques Laffont Prize, which recognizes an economist whose research is in the spirit of Jean-Jacques Laffont's, combining both theory and empirical work.

David C. Popp received the 2017 Association of Environmental and Resource Economists' Publication of Enduring Quality Award for his paper on "Induced Innovation and Energy Prices."

James Poterba was elected a corresponding fellow of the British Academy.

Valerie Ramey was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Assaf Razin was awarded the 2017 EMET Prize in Economics, an award for excellence in academic and professional achievements that is sponsored by the A.M.N. Foundation for the Advancement of Science, Art, and Culture in Israel, under the auspices of and in cooperation with the Prime Minister of Israel.

Stephen J. Redding won the Best Paper Prize from the Journal of International Economics for his paper on "Goods Trade, Factor Mobility, and Welfare."

Mar Reguant was awarded the 16th Banco Sabadell Award for Economic Research, which is awarded every year to a promising Spanish economist under the age of 40.

Dani Rodrik received the John von Neumann Award from Corvinus University in Budapest and the John Fayerweather Eminent Scholar Award from the Academy of International Business. He also was elected president of the International Economic Association.

Mark Rosenzweig and coauthor Junsen Zhang received the Sun Yefang Economic Science Award for their paper, "Do Population Control Policies Induce More Human Capital Investment? Twins, Birth Weight, and China's 'One-Child' Policy."

Peter Rousseau and Boyan Jovanovic received the inaugural Robert E. Lucas, Jr. Prize from the Journal of Political Economy for their paper on "Extensive and Intensive Investment over the Business Cycle." The Lucas Prize is to be awarded biannually to a paper in the area of dynamic economics.

Dan Sichel was part of a team that won the Indigo Prize for the best essay on how to measure economic activity in the 21st century. He also received the Abramson Award from the National Association for Business Economics for his paper with David Byrne and Stepen Oliner on "Prices of High-Tech Products, Mismeasurement, and the Pace of Innovation."

Betsey Stevenson was elected to the Executive Committee of the American Economic Association.

Joseph Vavra received a Sloan Foundation Fellowship.

Adrien Verdelhan and coauthors Wenxin Du, and Alexander Tepper received the AQR Insight Award for their paper on "The Deviations from Covered Interest Rate Parity."
COPYRIGHT 2018 National Bureau of Economic Research, Inc.
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2018 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:NBER News; Susan Athey was elected a vice president of die American Economic Association; Jonathan Berk and the late Richard Green were awarded the Stephen Ross Prize; John Beshears, James Choi, David Laibson, and Brigitte Madrian received the TIAA Paul A. Samuelson Award
Publication:NBER Reporter
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 1, 2018
Previous Article:Consumption and Income Inequality since the 1960s.
Next Article:Antoinette Schoar, Amir Sufi Codirecting Corporate Finance Program.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2021 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters |