Printer Friendly

Awards for Municipal Excellence thanks cities for 20 years of innovative programs.

The Awards for Municipal Excellence Program looks back at two decades of innovative programs that have improved the quality of life in American communities. We thank all of the winning cities for their continued support for high-quality local programs.

* 121 NLC member cities, towns and villages are represented by winning programs.

* Award-winning programs can be found in 35 states.

* California leads the states in the number of awards received, with 31.

* We celebrate the cities of Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, Milwaukee, Phoenix, San Diego, and San Jose, Calif., for their successful engagement in multiple award winning programs. Each city has won three or more awards over the course of the 20 year program.

* Special thanks to 1989 winners Anniston, Ala.; Boise, Idaho; Los Angeles; and Syracuse, N.Y., for being the first ever cities to receive Awards for Municipal Excellence (then named the James C. Howland Awards for Urban Enrichment).

Details: Visit to learn more about the Awards for Municipal Excellence and to access the 2009 nomination packet. The deadline for all submissions is May 1. Direct questions or requests for further information to or (202) 626-3130.
COPYRIGHT 2009 National League of Cities
No portion of this article can be reproduced without the express written permission from the copyright holder.
Copyright 2009 Gale, Cengage Learning. All rights reserved.

Article Details
Printer friendly Cite/link Email Feedback
Title Annotation:National League of Cities
Publication:Nation's Cities Weekly
Article Type:Conference news
Geographic Code:1USA
Date:Mar 23, 2009
Previous Article:Jackson outlines environmental agenda.
Next Article:LTI luncheon recognizes leadership achievements.

Related Articles
NLC, CH2M HILL unveil new name for award.
City showcase to feature exhibits, best practices.
Washington cities recognized with excellence, WellCity Awards.
Excellence awards honor municipal collaborations.
Boise presented with Award for Municipal Excellence at hometown event.
South Sioux City presented with Award for Municipal Excellence.
Awards for Municipal Excellence celebrates its 20th anniversary: past awards for Municipal Excellence winning projects continue to go strong.
June state league conferences recognize projects, individuals and cities for their successes.
Three municipal leagues present awards for outstanding achievements.
NLC recognizes cities and towns.

Terms of use | Privacy policy | Copyright © 2020 Farlex, Inc. | Feedback | For webmasters